We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders to your Saves list
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Catterline
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

I stay here with friends at least three times each year. It's in a great location, the hotel caters for our needs-no matter how fussy we are. The Tontine is in the process of upgrading, which the owners have put a lot of effort into, incorporating the ideas and suggestions of their guests. The food is always fresh and plentiful and the bedrooms are clean and tidy. When the rooms are upgraded maybe we would spend more time in them, but with so much to do in the area why would we want to do that?

  • Liked — Food. Atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    146
    28
    17
    6
See reviews for
60
193
26
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastleton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

having checked the tontine website it looked really modern!! when we arrived looked ok at the desk. went upstairs and what a shock very very old furnitue a tiny tv in the corner with only 4 channels. you could not take one step without the floor creaking very loudly,we,re sure that there was a hole in the floor it seemed to dip a little.when we booked out the girl said it costs money to upgrade rooms and at £110 a night it wastandard room price. this hotel is a very poor 1 star trying to be a 3 star.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbrian not born but bred.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

My wife & I have just returned from a rejuvinating weekend in Peebles. Walks, views & hospitality a plenty, the Tontine completed a most positive experience. The staff are most friendly & courteous but not excessively so. Attention to detail is maybe a little lacking in regards service, but you are certainly not neglected.
The dining room is a pleasant but unpretentious affair although food service was a little slow at times. However, this is likely to be your only complaint as the food is very clearly cooked fresh to order with well sourced ingredients. The menu is perhaps a littlle uninspired, but reliable.
The room in the annex where we stayed was clean & well presented, although not overly fresh (smokers always leave their mark!)
The lounge is a great place to relax & unwind.
We are and would be happy to return, although we shall probably commit to a more expensive room. That said, our break which we sourced on line but booked on the phone was serious value for money.
The area is a gem to explore.

  • Liked — The old building
  • Disliked — The bedroom.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

This is a family run hotel just off the high street in Peebles. This was our third stay. We enjoyed the friendly service and the relaxed atmosphere, particularly the lounge for it's relaxing and nostalgic feel. Our bedroom was comfortable and nicely decorated, with a huge bathroom, recently refurbished in the main, older part of the hotel. Breakfast served in the lovely dining room was very nice.

We have stayed at Venlaw Castle also in the past but prefer the Tontine for it's accessibility to Peebles, it's friendly staff and reasonable cost. We have recently booked up for another stay in the summer and can't wait to see the refurbishment.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham Lincs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

having just stayed at the Tontine Hotel with our two friends
everything about this hotel is wonderful. Gordon, Kate and all the staff were so welcoming and friendly and went out of their way to help you.
The rooms were very good, food was excellent and varied.
Despite the alterations it did not interfere with our stay and the refurbishment was going well.
information by Sarah, Susan and Kate and all staff excellent.
Edinburgh easily accessible- as the Roslin Chapel by bus service - golf courses great and welcoming.
all in all a great stay - we shall be returning.

  • Liked — Everthing about this place is brilliant
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

We stayed here saturday 5th april thank goodness only for one night.
Staff were ok not friendly or interested in guests.
We booked this hotel because we read small friendly family run hotel etc.
We did not find this to be the case.
Rooms very poor standard and definately not worth the money.
This hotel should be at most 2**
I wish i had read reviews before staying.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

A friend, her daughter and I stayed for two nights at the Tontine.In spite of the fact they were being refurbished,they were so friendly and helpful that we could find no fault.Susan in particular 'made ' the place.She has a bubbly personality and makes you feel so at home.If people complain it's maybe because they expect too much for the price ,which was indeed reasonable.I've read other reviews and they obviously have different experiences--it's personal after all.We expected the best treatment and got it.
Love the open fires ---and the people of Peebles in general were so friendly and open.We will be back!!
Stobo Castle on the other hand will not be revisited by us .

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — the stairs--but then they were a source of amusement
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High St, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.