We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Save Saved
You added Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
For BEST Rate Book DIRECT
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Peebles
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Slow service good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Visited today party of 11 we were new to the area nice inside so we stayed for lunch good fair prices but oh so very slow service waited nearly an hour for our food which was a strain with five kids but when it came it was good and fault free someone in our group mentioned this is a regular occurance here so might not rush back and our bill was wrong but did not complain as we were scared incase it took an hour to sort!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    126
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
48
166
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed for a 3 day break. Ideally positioned in the high street this hotel has a lot going for it and forms a great impression as you enter the lobby. There you find lots of comfy furniture and an open fire where you can enjoy morning coffee etc. In the time we were there it was always busy and a seat was hard to come by so obviously popular with both guests and visitors.

The dining areas are also very pleasant. We had a mixed experience with the service in the main dining room although the food was good. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient but were let down by the chef. On a couple of occassions, even though the dining room was not busy, the food took a long time to arrive. This applied to dinner and breakfast .

Most bedrooms are at the back in an ugly extension. Our bedroom was at the back and had a nice view of the river. This was not the first room allocated to us. The first was nicely appointed but did'nt have a bath which is what we wanted. Our room was changed without fuss within minutes of a call to Reception and the help of Liz the Housekeeper. The second bedroom had received some TLC but this had'nt included the bathroom which looked a little sad.

The main parking is at the back of the hotel which then means a 3 flight climb to reach Reception not on if you have heavy luggage. Tip: when you arrive at the hotel unload at the front and then get some help with your luggage to your room.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others. The hotel has a nice ambience and all staff are very friendly and eager to please. The Kitchen just needs to up their game in food delivery.

Room Tip: Go for a Classic room with a river view but check that it has been fully refurbished..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle on Tyne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This 200 year old hotel is right in the middle of Peebles high street and ideal for a short break.
Three friends and I stayed for two nights over a weekend in December. Two of us had single rooms at the front of the property which were quite small but very comfortable and warm. The bathrooms were dated but very clean and the over-bath shower had lots of piping hot water. The hotel is right on the main street and there was quite a lot of traffic noise which didn't bother me at all but did disturb my friend. The other two had single rooms at the back of the hotel which were very quiet and had river views. I will defintely stay there again and would be happy to have the same room but if you want quiet rooms, then the back would be best.
The public rooms are very comfortable and welcoming. Breakfast was served in the dining room at the rear of the hotel with spectacular views. We thought the breakfast took a long time to arrive but the quality of the food was good, I especially enjoyed a very moist and tasty kipper. We ate dinner in the bistro and the food was good but not wonderful.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall the hotel was very good value for money and the atmosphere very relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights here to attend a family wedding. The hotel proved to be well appointed and all members of staff were welcoming, efficient and friendly. It was good to see that the hotel was buzzing with locals and visitors popping in for coffee, meals or drinks. The room was couthy and was very convenient to the needs of our small dog. We will certainly recommend this excellent hotel to anyone visiting this area who wants a cosy environment. .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It is with pleasure that I can review the wonderful hospitality myself and friends, Ladies Fishing Club enjoyed at the Tontine Hotel. Reception suggested we drop off overnight bags before proceeding to the fishing beat. On arrival an unexpected treat of coffee and bacon sandwiches was very welcome after an early start, so a great beginning to the day.

Warm, Shining, Pristine, Comfortable, Friendly, Thoughtful, too many adjectives to describe the Tontine. A complete surprise since I had not made the booking nor unusually checked out Trip Advisor, and was expecting small town, often drab accommodation.
Arriving back late afternoon we checked into warm comfortable bedrooms enhanced with calming decor, pristine large bathroom, boiling hot water, and a very, very comfortable bed made up with top notch linen and soft downy pillows, bliss. No time to enjoy that as yet. Down for dinner, serve in the stunning Adam room, with its warm colours and attractive tables with fresh flowers. Staff had reserved a table in the lounge so we could enjoy a cocktail before dining; this was good ;because the hotel was buzzing. The menu is interesting making use of local produce with an innovative and competent chef at the helm, a delicious and well presented meal. Top choices were the Chestnut Mushrooms on toasted Brioche, from the Local Heroes Menu, Loin of Venison with juniper berry jus, and for pud the Borders own Ecclefecan Tart with caramel ice cream.
A lovely well run family hotel with friendly staff, who obviously work well as a team and who could not have been more helpful, and knowledgeable. We shall certainly be back; I felt I had arrived home, a comment which rarely comes to mind when staying in a hotel.

Thank you all for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Our rooms were situated numbers 1 to 8. Steep stairs to the upper floor rooms 5,6,7, if you have mob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so very much for posting such a lovely and positive review following your "fishing trip" to the Tweed Valley. We were all delighted to learn of the many wonderful aspects of your stay with us and delighted your party so enjoyed your vist and stay at "The Tontine".
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

a quaint old world hotel conveniently situated in the centre of the CBD. the comfortable well appointed family room was located high in a turret at the front of the hotel overlooking the lovely main street. Comfortable hotel lounges and well set modern dining room and they even had a jar of vegemite on the breakfast table. Staff extremely attentive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We have all been reading your review and we thank you for taking the time to post such a positive reflection on your visit to Peebles and "The Tontine". Very pleased to note your feedback re "attentive staff" as this is great customer feedback we can share with all involved in food service. Thank you.
Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Friendly staff, fantastic breakfast and evening meal and a reasonable price for a hotel in such a prime location.

10 mins drive from Glentress, 15-20ish from Innerleithen.

Waiting staff were particularly helpful in the evening, but overall all the staff we met were warm, friendly and efficient.

No complaints, if you're looking for somewhere nice in the centre of Peebles, book it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel look over the River Tweed, which is really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are delighted to learn of your comments regarding location and recommendation for Glentress & Innerleithen and your overall satisfaction with the hotel and services. I hope many find your review helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High St, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.