We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tontine

The Tontine
High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
01721 720892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Peebles
Price range: $14 - $45
Cuisines: Scottish, British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I can honestly say that the only thing I did not like was haggis, but I had to try it.
My wife and I had sirloin steak it was the BEST steak we had tasted for ages, the chef cooked them exactly as we had asked and they were perfect.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "GrandadLiverpool" for your review. A quick, sharp review regarding your restaurant experience and your feedback is much appreciated. Mind you, whats not to like about Haggis!
Kate & Gordon Innes (Hotel Proprietor's)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    48
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This Hotel was selected for a venue on my (and my wifes) vist to relatives nearby. The hotel itself is quite grand and the reastaurant has nice views, the food itself is well cooked and plentiful, however the menu could perhaps be a little more varied, the service was, as has previously been stated 'relaxed' which, in my view is a bonus as I personally detest being rushed through a meal. All in all an enjoyable culinary experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thankyou "RealLeighman" for your recent review via Tripadvisor. All in all you enjoyed your experience and visit. We were interested to read your reflection and request for a more varied menu and would ask for a suggestion or two in order we can further deliver on guest feedback and requests. We do endeavour to provide what the customer wants and menus can be tailored and changed in future to reflect specific customer feedback and suggestions.
Thanks again for taking time to post feedback via the Tripadvisor site!
Kate & Gordon Innes (Tontine Hotel, Peebles)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Shame we were rushed for this one as we were warned in advance that it was notoriously slow (coming from the US, that made it VERY slow). Were meeting some friends for a quick bite before driving through to Edinburgh (they were also passing through on the way to Inverness). Had a ciabatta sandwich (tuna melt) and it was very good. Thought it was all a little formal for us for a Saturday lunchtime but wont hold that against it. Service was good. Girl accidentally ran wrong amount on the bill but fessed up immediately and gave me the difference back in cash so all was well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Manager at The Tontine, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "Aljarov" for your comments, feedback and review. A "pretty good" score for us although we are concerned that we were "reviewed in advance" as being notoriously slow. We do not recognise this feedback from any other reviews or indeed feedback. However we accept your review and thanks for the feedback regarding incorrect billing, which I am glad to see was quickly changed.
Gordon & Kate Innes (Tontine Hotel, Peebles)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

As a local Hotel i have dined here many times, food always very nice with good choice and portion sizes plentiful with even a mini fish supper dish available if you can't manage a full one.
On my most recent visit i found my lasagne too salty for my taste but my salad was very nice.
Menu doesn't change often which is good in a way if you have your favourite but depending how often you visit can be limiting. All food what you would say as pub / gastro food but i can say the Afternoon Tea is the best value and variety i have found anywhere and definitely worth a try. All staff are polite, efficient and surroundings are lovely,lounge being very cosy and welcoming with lovely coal fire and chaise lounges, table and chairs. Then 2 separate dining areas one being more contemporary and relaxed and then the other being more formal (used more for functions) Toilets have recently been refurbished and decorated making them up to date which makes a difference in an old building.If in the area give it a try but can be very busy !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your post via TripAdvisor. We are all pleased to note you are a regular visitor, but I feel we must correct you on a couple of points. We do infact change the menu every 3 months (quarterly) to take account of some seasonal variations and food availability. Off course we dare not change our "Fish & Chips" or indeed many of the dishes, Scampi, Burger, Lasagne, yes gastro pub dishes but firm favourites with our regular clientele. However we do feel we can "push the boat out" a little with finer dining dishes, Confit Duck leg, Rump of Border Lamb, Corn Fed Chicken Breast with a wild mushroom & tarragon broth and Sea Bream with Asparagus Fettucine, four dishes recently changed on the menu as at 24 Jan. The menu does indeed cater for a wide range of tastes and we very much agree with you, it is indeed always worth a visit!
Many thanks again for taking time to post your constructive feedback!
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent High Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We took High Tea in the Tontine just before Christmas. It was a miserable day and we'd been for a walk along the riverside and were wet and cold. Coming into the Tontine with the lovely welcoming fires in the front room and having High Tea with my daughter was just lovely.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at The Tontine, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thanks for posting your excellent review via TripAdvisor, Very pleased to note your recommendations about the fires in our lounge areas which are a great draw in the colder winter months. I agree, you can't beat a lovely afternoon tea at "The Tontine".
Many thanks, Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tontine also viewed

Peebles, Scottish Borders
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Tontine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tontine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.