We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our short overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list
Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8BA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our short overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We have just returned today from an overnight stay which was purchased via a voucher at £39. Having read historical reviews before we booked we were aware that the hotel was deemed as being a little dated.

We had not visited Peebles or The Park Hotel before but we enjoyed our stay and we will return again in the future. The hotel is a bit dated however the hotel and the rooms are clean and tidy.

The staff were friendly and drinks reasonably priced and the breakfast was very good.

We did request a rear room to obtain a view but we were allocated room 76 which is at the side of the hotel and unfortunately this is next to the large extractor system on the roof next to our room which seems to serve the kitchen which was rather noisy.( we had to keep the window closed at all times ). So if we return we will avoid room 75 or 76 otherwise we had a lovely short stay.

Room Tip: trip very hard to obtain a room with a rear view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    60
    23
    18
    7
See reviews for
19
106
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited here on a Sunday for Afternoon Tea.
Wallpaper torn, carpet filthy-decor desperately needs attention and updating along with training staff etc.
Bar staff looked hungover. Some, not all members of Staff young and couldn't care less. Afternoon tea was a shambles. Cakes were dry and tasteless. Finger (80's style) sandwhiches have to be the worst I have ever had in my life. Felt as though I would be ill after eating them. Coffee not hot enough. When asked if we could box up some of our un eaten cakes which got binned anyway the manager could not have been less enthusiastic if she tried.
This Hotel has the potential to be a great Hotel but its not!
Faulty Towers did come to mind as I took everything in!
I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here to attend a wedding in town. I am really surprised at all the great reviews - not sure if people wanted the Faulty towers look/experience but the hotel is definitely not up to scratch! Saying that very few of the other guests that stayed in most of the towns other hotels were in any way complimentary about the hotels or facilities - it was however clean although tired.

The staff were very friendly and helpful but the rest is really in dire need of refurbishment. Room was big, bed was tired - not just me! - one window could not be opened properly (had to prop it open with a shoe!). No aircon (come on people its 2014!!!!!!) furniture tired and really not a pleasant experience. Guess you have a captive market for the area but really not acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt face the main road....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Firstly i would like to say we are not serial moaners or complain to get some kind of freebie but Judging by some of the other reviews I think we were given the worst rooms in the hotel. See photos.On arrival we were given room 71, a decent size but rather depressing. Two windows, one a view of the fire escape the other a view of the wall of the opposite extension. Headboard had two dirty head marks on,Shower was filthy, see photo, heated towel rail permanently on as control missing. Extractor thick with dust. We asked to be moved but the nice young man on reception said there were no other rooms available. Asked to speak to manager, who advised us via the young man on reception that they did have another room after all. Room 81 was marginally better. It had a view to the outside world ! As this was the only room left we decided to try to ignore the VERY threadbare carpet and the mould and mildew on the grouting in the relatively new bathroom and the shaver light not working as we were only staying one night. Incidentally, according to on line booking agents they still had three rooms available at 10.30 that night. The bed base was in a poor condition and the bed valance ripped. The evening meal we had and the breakfast was excellent as were the helpful and obliging staff. The public rooms of the hotel are pleasant but are somewhat dated. Unfortunately we will not be staying at the Park Hotel on our next visit to Peebles. There are superior and cheaper hotels in Melrose and St Boswells not too far away.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 71 or 81
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Having stayed at some allegedly 'dog-friendly' establishments in the past that had lists of dos and donts as long as my arm (I'm looking at you, Caddon View in Innerleithen), the Park Hotel is a gem of dog-friendliness: no rules or regulations, just a warm welcome.

The staff are all professional and friendly and well-trained; polite, attentive and helpful.

The food is superb, on our first night I had a lamb tagine and the meat was melt-in-your-mouth delicious.

While the decor is a bit dated the whole hotel was clean, comfortable, and quiet, just what we were looking for for a quiet couple of days away.

I'd totally recommend it, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

just spent 2 nights at the Park Hotel in Peebles. The room was ideal only downfall was it was very warm in the room and had no aircon or fan to cool down. Spotlessly clean with fresh towels daily. Staff and very warm and friendly and we also took advantage of the facilities up at the sister hotel Peebles Hydro , swimming sauna free. You are only 2 minutes walk into the lovely town and plenty of shops to browse through. Breakfast plentiful and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night on 22 July. As it was an itison deal and very reasonably priced was not expecting much. Myself and 3 friends were delighted with our rooms. The public areas were lovely and the gardens beautiful. Did help that the sun was shining and we could make use of the gardens. We had dinner in the bar area and were all satisfied with our meals. The waitress was exceptionally nice and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the views over the hills is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8BA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park is a warm and friendly place right in the centre of Peebles - a great place to base yourself when looking to explore the Scottish Borders where the list of outdoor activities is as long as your arm. Whether walking, class mountain biking, shopping or plain old relaxing is what you're after, you'll find it here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Peebles, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.