We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peebles Hydro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Peebles Hydro to your Saves list
Peebles Hydro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Sunset Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We bought an 'Itison Voucher" for this hotel and were more than delighted with our two day break. Fantastic value for money. Beautiful hotel where the staff were very attentive and professional. Set in beautiful surroundings,this hotel is a gem in this area.Breakfast and dinner were hot, tasty and of excellent quality Both served friendly and well. Bedroom very spacious and clean. The highlight for us was The Leisure Centre. The best we,ve experienced in ages. Pool great for swimmers as it is laned off and health suite is wonderful and spotless. Would recommend this hotel for friendliness,cleanliness,position,facilities and a wonderful experience for breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you Scottiesunsetbeach. Our staff in all departments, really appreciate your positive feedback. The leisure centre is great for both swimming and the view so pleased you enjoyed your time there. Come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    220
    119
    96
    66
See reviews for
230
227
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely awful overnight stay in this run down, shabby hotel!!! The room was so basic and the decor was a disgrace!! The food was the worst I have ever tasted I couldn't even cut my steak with a steak knife and was so tough all I can describe it as was a choke hazard and I wasn't cheap either!! I had to send the full steak back and we were still charged for dinner all be it less tge £9 supplement added for the sirloin. We had to leave the hotel in order to find edible food!!! We were so disappointed with our peebles hydro experience its safe to say we wont be planning an other stay any time soon!! I would much rather stay in one of the lower cost hotel/inn chains at least they are not claiming to be what they are not.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
What a blistering review Joanna_cran. The team here are really sorry to read how you feel about your recent visit. Your experience does not meet our standards therefore we will look to discuss these points with the departments involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Peebles Hydro is well situated on the outskirts of town and it is a short stroll from the hotel in town .
The Hydro is very clean and the rooms are well appointed , the staff are friendly and helpful .
Breakfast is wonderful with a huge choice of dishes and a buffet style "full Scottish " breakfast is also available , it's very good.
The Hydro is well placed for exploring the Borders area , i can recommend it as a great place to stay

Room Tip: Try to get a feature room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
thank you Scottr . We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent break, we hope that you can continue to enjoy all that Peebles Hydro has to offer in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked as part of my daughters birthday, thinking it would be nice to spend time at the spa and have a relaxing massage.....how wrong I was!
From the time of booking until arrival we had a family death, although I considered cancelling I decided 'a chill out' was needed. I was bitterly disappointed to be unable to book for a massage and emailed the hotel explaining circumstances-his reply was that he would have thought following the family death I would have more to think about than the hotel's therapists!!!
I have since established the 131 bedroom spa hotel only employs 3 therapists. I thereafter booked treatments at a local business- At First Sight.I can highly recommend Nicola for our lovely massage and her professionalism.
We arrived at 14.10 hours and our room was not ready.Although there are a lot of stairs to the reception, there are no porters to assist, beware if elderly or unfit. We had sandwiches in the hotel and thereafter attended for our treatments.On returning after 17.20hrs we went to our upgraded feature room, not a true description.
The carpet required hoovering, the small over bath screen had toothpaste on it. I decided to look at the mattress and was totally disgusted to find it had 3 separate urine stains, a hole in the base and a hole in the mattress. I contacted reception requesting another bed. The reception staff were very nice and we were moved to a suite at no additional cost. The suite was nice, but we had very little sleep due to a party in the opposite suite, I think it may have been a 'hen party'.. This continued until after 02.00hours and a visit from night porter.
The hotel was a big disappointment and is in need of a major upgrade.
The General Manager is devoid of any customer care values.
Guests should be mindful that if they would like treatments, they need to book outwith the hotel. Our massage from Nicola was first class.
I am considering contacting Scottish Tourist Board as I am concerned at overseas visitors spending time or money in such a poor hotel.
I would not recommend this hotel and I have photographs to confirm my report.
Advise alternative local accommodation. Crieff and Dunblane Hydro are a more true reflection on the Scottish hotels.
The suite was nice, but ironically had its own spa treatment room, yet the hotel is very short on therapists. It also had a large dressing room which is not of any great use for a 1-2 night stay, the bathroom was beautiful and very well equipped. The picture window had a large crack and a dead spider was in the bed. The bedroom area was what I would expect from a 4 star hotel,

The general manager would benefit from the customer service skills of his reception staff.

Room Tip: Avoid room 60 until new beds are purchased! A suite will provide what you expect of a 4 star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydropathic S, Public Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
It's very disturbing to see that unhapphols13 has reposted this review, which Tripadvisor previously removed due to the personal and highly offensive nature of its content. We have now asked Tripadvisor to remove this latest version. Unhappyhols13 has reported my sympathetic comments entirely out of context. We'll always do our best to resolve any issues at the time ( as is demonstrated by the fact that we provided a complimentary upgrade to a Suite at no extra cost). I welcome all feedback - good or bad but, when it's given in this unfair manner, it's neither nice nor necessary
Patrick Diack, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay at Peebles Hydro. The hotel was clean and very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was very good and was well staffed. The breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice available, and set us up for a day exploring Peebles and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us auntieagnes. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Just returned after a relaxing overnight stay at the Hydro, if you can try and get a feature room we were in room 60 which was spacious and had amazing views well worth the upgrade cost
Very friendly staff. No hotel information given at reception on check in, or any details in the room. ie - meal times , checkout times. Breakfast was varied and plentiful a good start to the day. We will definitely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: Feature rooms have amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We agree douglasc the views from our feature bedrooms are stunning. We realise more information is required in bedrooms and it'll be in place very soon. See you when you're back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Many of the benefits of a once grand hotel remain here to be enjoyed by visitors of all ages at extremely competitive rates. Spending two days in the Hydro using Itison vouchers we did not expect, nor got the best room in the hotel. Our room was well equipped though - lacking only a view but the views from the shared public rooms are glorious. These main rooms ooze the luxurious grace of this hotel’s opulent past.
The huge gardens have been laid out and manicured by teams of gardeners at one time. It would be costly to maintain them at that level but they are cared for, retaining much of their beauty. Facilities such as tennis courts, mini golf course and a putting green are still maintained to a playable level. These have been added to with a kiddies’ playground and an assault course for older children. Indoor activities include table tennis, badminton, snooker and, reflecting the hotel’s origins as a spa, they retain treatment rooms, a sauna and a good sized pool. All these facilities are available free to all the guests whilst a genuine effort is being made to develop as a family hotel by providing organized activities for children with daily programmes that even involve the kids dining together. These day courses, involving art and entertainments as well as sports, are run most days of the week and are free – freeing up time for hattered parents!
The centre of Peebles is a short walk away and, with so many recommended eating places, we took our evening meals there. Breakfasts at the Hydro are mainly on a help yourself basis that suits gluttons, anorexics and the rest of us. There is a good choice of cereals, fruit juices and pastries. The fruit table is the best we have seen in any hotel with a large selection of both fresh and preserved fruits. Hotplates in the centre of the room have all the traditional breakfast items which are replenished fairly frequently. Items that do not stand well, such as poached eggs, smoked haddock, kippers and porridge are ordered from the waiter along with your tea, coffee and toast. Everything we had was of good quality and well cooked.
Many thanks to the staff whom we found friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Avoid 101 if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hydropathic S, Guest Relations Manager at Peebles Hydro, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
great feedback hamishdf , we have a wide range of activities during school holidays which are loved by both adults and children, we pride ourselves in being a family friendly hotel. Our staff are delighted with your comments about our graceful hotel. We are now under new ownership and we have exciting plans for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peebles Hydro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peebles Hydro

Address: Innerleithen Road, Peebles EH45 8LX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peebles Hydro 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Peebles Hydro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydro Peebles
Hydro Hotel Peebles
Peebles Hydro Hotel
Peebles Hydro Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peebles Hydro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.