We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Day break with National Holidays.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Waverley Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Skirmish Hill | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“5 Day break with National Holidays.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Waverly Hotel with National Holidays from the 25- 29th march. we found our room to be clean,warm, bathroom was clean, plenty of hot water. The furniture looked new and was in good condition, and the bed was comfortable.(only one chair in the room could have done with two).On the whole, the food was adequate(could have done with 2 bacon rashers at breakfast). The staff were excellent and helpful. I think it is time that the hotel upgraded the televisions..5 channels these days is a poor choice.Would we come again, yes we would.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear peter955, thank you for your recent review. I will pass your comments onto the relevant people in regards to the televisions and investigate your comments about the chair and food. I am pleased that you found the room warm and clean and the staff to be excellent and helpful. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    123
    79
    38
    26
See reviews for
58
160
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Waverley twice before but won't be returning. Food standards have went right down hill. Fried egg in morning was rubbery & the yolk was like a boiled egg, poached was the same. The bacon had to be returned as it was brick hard. I had the breaded haddock on Sunday & when brought to me on the plate was a 1 sachet of tartar sauce. Hotel standard i think not. Should have been served in a ramekin dish. The room carpet was filthy & had tea stains on it. Since my last visit they have new tables & chairs which are very nice but green table mats do nothing for the tables. The decor in rooms & dining area is very tired looking. My previous visits were very enjoyable & food was lovely so really disappointed this this visit. Staff work very hard but some could do with looking a bit tidier.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear June 35,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologise for failing to meet your previous expectations with regards to the food. I will investigate them with the Head Chef.

Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again.

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were really looking forward to our trip away for our 30th wedding anniversary and when we arrived at the hotel it looked amazing. The reception was lovely and once inside the hotel it was a real maze but very nice unfortunately the food that was included was awful. The mixture was terrible and would never have expected roast potatoes with pie or even croquettes with a roast beef dinner? The food was cold most of the time and that was all the food including breakfast and a huge problem getting a runny egg. We spent the Sunday afternoon in the hotel games room where we entertained ourselves and popped down to reception for drinks as the bar was closed as stated in brochure in the room. The guy on reception on Sunday, when asked for drinks it seemed to be a bother and the soft drinks from the dispenser were flat in minutes but he tried it and it was fine which it was when it first came out the pump. The room itself was ok but I have great concerns about the chains on all the windows all over the hotel surely some of the windows should be fire escapes? The hotel is very tired and could do with a decent facelift asap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Yvonne B,

Thank you for your recent review. The chains on windows are for health and safety, they are window restrictors so people can't open them and fall out when they are drunk. None of them are fire escapes, we have regular inspections from the fire officer and he is happy with them as they are not means of escape.

Your comments regarding food and staff will be investigated with the relvent Heads of Department.

Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we booked a three night break at the hotel planning a walking weekend.Our room was clean, warm, comfortable bed, good ensuite bathroom with loads of hot water essential after returning from walking in snow drifts.The hotel staff,bar staff and waiting staff were all excellent I was amazed how quickly everyone was served at meal times.Breakfast was very good, good choice and cooked very hot.Evening meal was plain acceptable food better than we expected for the minimal price we paid would go again and look at other shearings hotels in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear lesley c, thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will see you again, kind regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Maybe they should be honest and tell us when people are ill at the hotel, also I got ill on the last day.
Edinburgh trip was okay nice to see the Royal Yacht Britannia and Queens bedrooms and meet friendly people from Edinburgh.
Hotel reasonable would not stay there again, did not find anything special about the hotel but is to far out of Melrose, travel to places is difficult and cost a lot on the train to Edinburgh.
Could be a great place for walkers and fishermen staying in the area, but not for my birthday bash.

Room Tip: Don’t have a room over the kitchens, slightly noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, General Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear PeterParkinson,

Thank you for your review. We are very honest with guests and they were signs at both reception and bar communicating the illness.

All other comments will be looked into.

Regards,

Luke Binks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on 15th-18th March. I booked it for 18 of us through National holidays. The hotel was clean and tidy. The rooms were adequate for what you pay. The staff were excellent especially Christine. The food was excellent with a good choice for breakfast and evening meals. The waiting staff were very efficient and friendly. I liked this hotel experience that much that i`ve booked it to take my wife for her birthday. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Wow, what a lovely review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and i will see you later on in the year, kind regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berwickupontweed
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

first impressions i.e reception area were excellent. Our room, although standard (which fair enough was what we booked) had all we required until you looked above eye level and found an array of cobwebs. On the whole the hotel, although a bit tired looking, was warm, and apart from the Manager quite friendly, our waiter for our stay was very pleasant and helpful, We found the food quite sub standard for a hotel, and nothing was hot even when asked for it to be heated in a microwave. Sunday dinner served in the dining room which included drapes at the windows covered in dust, included a beef roast served with chef's potatoes ( which where soggy croquettes) and selection of seasonal veg (which was cold broccoli and frozen mixed veg) not what we had expected!!! I have posted other comments for various hotels, which have been good, BUT SORRY NOT THIS ONE!!!!! This hotel will not be recommended and def off our list to revisit

Room Tip: sorry as we would not go back can't do this
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrBinksGM, Manager at Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear viven r, I am saddened to read that we did not achieve our usual high standards in regard to your stay with us. I will investigate the food and cleanliness problems with the relevant departments. I apologise that these experiences has left you not wanting to come he again. However I am sure if you were to come back your experience would be much better. Kind Regards, Luke Binks, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Waverley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Waverley Castle Hotel

Address: Skirmish Hill | Waverley Road, Melrose TD6 9AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately looking Waverley Castle Hotel, situated one mile outside the town of Melrose, is set splendidly in five acres of rolling parkland at the heart of the Scottish Borders. Nestling between the River Tweed and the Eildon Hills, it is a stunning building boasting stunning views. Guests can happily relax in the Eildon Restaurant and enjoy outstanding views out over the Eildon Hills. After dinner you can continue your evening in the welcoming bar and ballroom where you can dance the night away to our excellent evening entertainment. The area is perfect for those who like to get out and explore. There are several sightseeing walks to enjoy nearby including one along the River Tweed. Historical Edinburgh is easily accessible by car for a day trip and is well worth a visit for the castle, shops, architecture and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Waverley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waverley Castle Hotel
Waverley Castle Melrose
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Waverley Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.