We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making a good effort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Station Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Station Hotel to your Saves list
Station Hotel
26 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Making a good effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night before beginning the St Cuthbert's Way. Rooms had been done up recently in a modern style that I liked, albeit rooms were fairly small. That said, the room was clean and had everything you'd need, and the bed we ultra comfy.
Breakfast was fine too. Overall good, though the bar was a bit quiet, though it was a Tuesday, and the wi fi did not work in the room. However, for the price it was fine.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
27
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have been calling in here for a few years now but never had a meal just drinks so we decided to have a go and we were not disappointed.
We both opted for the speciality burgers and they were great. The staff are good and helpfull and the place is clean and tidy. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for just one night to go to a wedding. All staff were very pleasant and friendly. The room was absolutely for a short stay, and breakfast was nice too. If we are back in melrose we'd be happy to stay there again. All in all would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at the Station for 1 night during a business trip to the area and as soon as I was welcomed, I felt ultimately at home. The room was small but very adequate and the bathroom was a good size. WIFI was a great benefit and sitting in the bar felt relaxing and I ordered food and it was nice. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Very warm and comfortable establishment. I felt I was talking to friends rather than staff. The food is wholesome with no attempt at stingy portion control. Only possible downside was that the price was a fair bit more than a walk down the high street threw up. However, to be fair I would stay here again as I know what I am getting.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over for one night, great room, food, location and the staff service was second to none they were very welcoming and helpful. Would stay again and recommend to others. Had a meal there and the food was great. The rooms were quiet and peaceful for a good nights sleep. There was both wifi and car parking available too.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an oldish building; as its name suggests it is the hotel built at the time when Melrose, like so many other small Border towns, actually had its own rail link. The hotel has clearly moved on and is now full of stripped pine floors with contemporary fixtures and fittings. Our room was not large, but extremely comfortable and we had a relaxing time, enjoying a lovely meal in the hotel restaurant. Lighting in the restaurant could be more atmospheric, but the food is really, really good and there is a separate room which can be booked for small functions or private dinners. Service is also good and everyone is welcoming and helpful. Would happily return and spend longer than a weekend break. Melrose never disappoints and neither will the Station Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel

Address: 26 Market Square, Melrose TD6 9PT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.