We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start to a week in the borders” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King's Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Melrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Arms Hotel
Save
You added King's Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Melrose, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good start to a week in the borders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for one night before starting a walking holiday. Staff friendly and room nice and comfortable if not large. Were advised to book eveningmeal and were glad we did because the place was busy. Bar was also busy. Evening meal excellent and breakfast next morning pretty good too. Great start to our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    25
    10
    11
    7
See reviews for
17
28
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a genuine review. Booked and paid deposit to stay for two nights. Vacated after one night. On arrival were told how much was owing (before we'd registered) but we refused to pay up front.
Were asked what time we'd be down for breakfast. Gave a half hour slot 8am to 8.30am.
Faulty light in bathroom meant a change of room (easier than replacing bulb obviously).
No glasses in bathroom or bath mat. No telephone and no hotel information available in room.
Before going for a meal someone came to our room to ask what time we'd be down for breakfast. We repeated the time we'd given, but a precise time was required!! We said 8-8.30am. "I'll put that down as 8am but that you might be late" was the response.
Mediocre meal was eaten that night in the bar at a sticky table - moved tables to another wet and sticky table.

Went down for breakfast at 8am. There was no staff in the hotel. Sat on stairs and telephoned the hotel number 17 times with no reply. When the owner/chef arrived it was 8.45am. No printed breakfast menu and were asked what we wanted for breakfast. Nearly ordered a large G & T! Checked out and moved a few yards up the street to the George & Abbotsford where we were given a room which was superior to the one we'd left with first class service and excellent food. My concern is what would have happened had there been a fire in the Kings Arms. There was no member of staff available to handle evacuation or know who was out of the building or inside. Six guests were left on their own for the night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed overnight as part of a Borders cycling trip. Rooms were good and food okay but for some reason everything had to be paid upfront. Also manager very brusque and never provided an adequate answer to why rooms, food, drinks, etc had to be paid upfront. To be fair younger bar staff friendly.

There was a function with a lot of 18-25 year olds that got very rowdy as the night wore on. Fortunatley I was that tired from cycling it didn't disturb me although that may not have been the case if I was not tired.

So hotel okay for my cucling trip but wouldn't go back if I was looking for a relaxing break with my wife and kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding at nearby Kippilaw House. Location was good, only £9 or so from the venue. Right in the middle of the town centre though, which is an attractive town in the Borders. Two nights for £140 so not the cheapest compared to other local options, but a spacious room. Plenty of stairs to get to it...!

Room very pleasant, though the TV signal wasn't the best. Free wifi though was good, and the signal pretty strong. Comfortable bed and nice pillows/bedding.

Bathroom is where the hotel could do some work, with tired fittings (particularly flooring) and low pressure on the shower.

Breakfast was very good, I didn't take full advantage of the full breakfast but other guests did and it looked good. Lovely sausages! The chef (owner?) was very friendly and helpful.

I'd happily stay here again, didn't eat here other than breakfast but friends have told me the food is good. Cheap beer anyway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in which to start your tour of Melrose and the Borders.

Friendly staff and a fine selection of food at very reasonable prices well worth a visit.

Try the salmon dish its local and very very tasty

Room Tip: The back rooms are away from the main street but Melrose its a very quiet place at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I took the opportunity to explore the Borders and chose Melrose as place to stay.
Having looked at a number of B&B and hotels for the town we opted for Kings Arms and glad we did.
As with a number of hotels in the town it is in a great location with the Abbey a short walk away and recommended.
The rooms are clean and even though it overlooked the high street there was very little noise.
The highlight for us was the food.
The menu has something for everyone and very reasonably priced.
Would stay here again if visiting Melrose

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were made very welcome by the staff at the King's Arms Hotel, Melrose. Right in the centre of this charming little borders town. We arrived late in the day and the restaurant seemed quite busy, but the staff were more than happy to hold a table for us later in the evening. The food was beautiful and the bar was full of locals- great for us aussies. The owner (who is the chef as well) and his staff could not have made us feel more welcome. Had one of the most enjoyable nights of our trip here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Arms Hotel

Address: Melrose, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Melrose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Melrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Melrose
King's Arms Hotel Melrose, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.