We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pinch of salt.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Pickled Orange

The Pickled Orange
78 High Street, Hawick, Scotland
+44 7939 447072
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 32 Restaurants in Hawick
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We are a small family run business, open since 2007,all of our food is unique and created with love, care and attention to detail, from our ever popular hot hand-carved gammon with melting brie PLOUGHMAN'S LUNCH to our guest SCONES and CAKES (including gluten-free and sugar-free options) Hot BREAKFASTS are available all day and are great value for money as well as being the best in Hawick, so we've been told! We are a licensed cafe so you can enjoy a wee wine or 2 with your LUNCH (available from noon until 5pm) Small, cosy and informal, we have many regular customers who return daily so please feel free to call to reserve a table so as to avoid disappointment. Our menus are displayed on blackboards to facilitate the frequent changes. We are now OPEN SATURDAY NIGHTS for our supper club offering a variety of dishes with our menu changing monthly we have no deep fat-fryers or ovens to regenerate pre-made foods like many restaurants, all our food is made from quality raw ingredients. With love and imagination. By Chef Owner Ruth Thomson and her staff, we hope to see you soon and that you enjoy your visit
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A pinch of salt.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My family and I were looking for somewhere to have a quick lunch in Hawick, we usually go to Turnbulls, but thought we would try somewhere new and spotted an intriguing sign leading down a narrow alley to a cafe called The Pickled Orange.
We were quite disappointed from the outset ... the decor was unremarkable bordering on dismal but we soldiered on in the belief that sometimes the best food can be found in the most uninviting of places. We needed help with the menu on a chalk board which had writing more suited to a doctor's prescription pad. Nor was it vegetarian-friendly and a menu devoid of fish should have been an indicator.
The trouble is we had reached the point of no return and so without causing embarrassment all-round we stayed the course and two of us plumped for the green pea and mint soup while our remaining third opted for an egg mayonnaise baguette.
The soup arrived full of promise. It looked inviting and smelled fresh and delightful - sadly appearances can be deceptive. There was more than a pinch of salt in the soup which masked all other tastes. Several minutes after the soup arrived the baguette arrived - it too contained more salt than a glass of seawater and the salad was limp and had given up the will to live rather reflecting our mood. Our hearts sank as the second course of cheese and tomato toasted sandwiches arrived and looked as appealing as a cold bucket of vomit. The rubbery cheese oozed out of the white bread as though it had just escaped from Porton Down laboratories.
The desert menu had looked rather inviting but we'd lost our appetite by then and asked for the bill. My old mum once cautioned against wandering down dark alleys at night saying it was inviting trouble - she's right ... except this was daylight.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth t, Owner at The Pickled Orange, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to The Pickled Orange
.
If you had brought your issues to our attention at the time, rest assured we would have done our utmost to rectify any issues you had.

Please accept our offer of coffee and cakes on the house on your next visit, just ask for Ruth Thomson

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Having lunch in Hawick? DON'T go anywhere else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

You would not come across this wonderful small restaurant by chance ~ it's a bit hidden up a lane with only an A-board on the main street to advertise it. But take the trouble to find it ~ it's REALLY excellent! We were recommended it by a young couple and my goodness they were right.

As others have said, it's not smart in the plastic-and-chrome sense, but the food there is superb. I suppose they may have a microwave somewhere but it was certainly not evident in the cooking. Everything was freshly prepared (so you will have to wait a few minutes) but it was delicious, and the two staff, I think mother and daughter owners, could not have been more helpful.

We had Cullen Skink [for non-Scots this is a wonderful soup with smoked haddock and potato - try it!] and a pudding for a light lunch on a long journey. Absolutely ideal; not too heavy but filled a tummy-rumble gap perfectly. There is a wide range of other dishes available, some as 'specials' for that day, and all of it "real".

And the prices were very reasonable indeed for such quality. As I said in the heading, don't go anywhere else!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth t, Owner at The Pickled Orange, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Lovely review, Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“great scones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Good for tea/coffee and has great scones - ours were still warm and fresh. a bit drab inside but good value for money.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth t, Owner at The Pickled Orange, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the scotts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We called in for a coffee and scone . The café had a lovely homely atmosphere and the staff were friendly and helpful , the scone was delicious and you could have a second cup of coffee free of charge and this was all very reasonably priced .

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruth t, Owner at The Pickled Orange, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pickled Orange also viewed

Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 

Been to The Pickled Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pickled Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.