We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shebab Tandoori Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Shebab Tandoori Indian Restaurant
6 - 8 North Bridge Street, Hawick, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Well I don't know where these people that are negative have been eating but it was not the saffron. We were in last night 9 April 2014 and the meal was excellent staff go out their way to be helpful and price very reasonable thanks guys:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    0
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not the best in Hawick mediocre at best now called the saffron ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Hi this is my review went in and asked for a table, the waiter asked how many for? He could clearly see there was two off us!

Anyways sat down waiter asked if we would like popadoms and pickle we said yes, and he came back with popadoms that tasted of cardboard, and the dips was disgusting, the spiced onions was revolting
2 cokes both flat, but drinkable it was very quiet and maybe it's been like this for a while, the waiter poured it from a two litre bottle and charged us £3.50p for two small glasses, rip off, should have had beer, but when you live in denholm your licence is important
The onion bhajies where flat, and the dough inside was stoggy and mushy and it tasted awful, my wife had samosa they where not too good either. We was not impressed,
The mains a jalfrezi and a kurma the kurma was nice, no faults, the jalfrezi the lamb was very chewy,
The rice was perfect and I loved it
The nan was small and round and was not very nice, the dough was not mixed properly

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Definately not as good as it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The restaurant is dated, lacks any atmosphere, laxidasical service and mediocre at best food. Used to be good but gone downhill badly. Never again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disgusting food, student waiter knew nothing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Tried this place had a bhuna prawn on puri, tasted very bland all I could taste was tomatoe puri, had a bhuna lamb very oily and fatty was very repulsive Hawick needs better! The nan bread was very large and tasted nice curry was horrible wont be trying this in a hurry

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Food was poor, and even after mentioning it all we were told was the chef would be told..All meats were tough and non edible..Portion of pakora to share consisted of 4 pieces, just a joke.The place was teaming with flies,which we also mentioned to be told there was nothing that could be done about it..Would they fancy sharing their meal with 6 flies..We won't be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shebab Tandoori Indian Restaurant also viewed

Hawick, Scottish Borders
 
Hawick, Scottish Borders
Hawick, Scottish Borders
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shebab Tandoori Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.