We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wiltonburn Farm

Wiltonburn Farm
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wiltonburn Farm to your Saves list
Wiltonburn Farm
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiltonburn Farm, Hawick TD9 7LL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hawick
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Sheila was very welcoming and helpful, suggesting and booking a table for dinner (despite it being difficult as it were a Sunday).
Great room and area
Only minor issue was a dirty shower head.
Great weather too.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is the secnd time I have visited Wiltonburn and I hope to return in the future. Shiela is an attentive host and very friendly. The farm is lovely and the rooms beautiful. Hawick is a 2 mile walk away which is very pleasant if you go via the park. I am very fond of Hawick and this B&B and cant wait to come back again.

Room Tip: The twin/family room with ensuite is beautifully decorated and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I stayed here for several nights in October 2012 actually doing family research. I'm embarrassed that I haven't left a review until now because I had a wonderful time. Any negative comments I've read here seem to be from people who expected a traditional hotel experience. It's not. Instead, you are treated to an insider's experience of a charming and authentic farming lifestyle. Sheila treated me like a long lost cousin with her warm humor and helpful local advice. I really can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Sheila (owner) made us very welcome even when we arrived soaked to the skin after riding up from Berwick during the day. we even turned up a little later than planned which wasn't a problem at all.

rooms are nice and comfy - (the wife reckoned it was the best she's slept away from home in years, which is quite a compliment!), breakfast good and hearty and the little shop next door was nice for a browse before setting off.

would liked to have seen a bit more of hawick while we were there, but unfortunately we had already booked in for our next nights stay.

will definitely stay a couple of nights next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for one night on our way further up north. The location is beautiful, a lovely house surrounded by countryside. We were greeted warmly by the land lady Sheila who showed us up to our room and made us feel welcome. We had been travelling all day and she was keen to help us settle in and find somewhere for us to get a meal. Sheila has put together a folder with local restaurant menus and advised on suitability, she then contacted them and booked a table for us. After a long journey this was a blessing.

Breakfast in the morning was lovely, with all of us having the cooked option.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived after a long day of traveling. This large old house is beautifully decorated, quiet, retaining qualities of the historic nature of the property. We had a large comfortable room with access to an extensive bathroom furnished up-to-date, but including an enormous bathtub.
We happened to be the only guests the night we stayed, and had "the whole house to ourselves". Delicious breakfast. Very friendly service. Set in a beautiful pastoral area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the Wiltonburn Farm one night (October 9) while I was taking a car trip through Scotland and England. I have ancestry from Hawick (even found some gravestones in the cemetery). I believe I stayed in the same room as the reviewer who had the bathroom down the hall. Yes, I wasn't expecting that, but it's just the way the house is designed and it didn't bother me at all. Personally, I found Sheila to be very nice and accommodating. Some hosts in bed and breakfasts hover around you like bees but Sheila was good at balancing being a good host with giving her guest privacy. I found the breakfast to be very good and hearty and chatted with the other guests (who knew the owners and come up from Yorkshire on a regular basis). I had a nice walk around the grounds which are very nice and the air was very fresh. I even made friends with the two sheep dogs who wanted to hang around me, for some reason.

Sheila runs her business, Wiltonburn County Cashmeres, in an add-on to the house. Personally I think that she was more involved in the bed and breakfast in the past (as she and her husband have been doing this for a couple of decades) but now the cashmere business is where she concentrates her work (thus not promoting the B and B as much as she did in the past). In the guest book for comments, I noticed that recently there have been few bookings. Sheila even joked that once the book is filled up, she'll retire from the B and B business, and in honestly there were maybe only 5 or 6 pages left in the book. That being said, I found her to be very nice and hospitable and if in the area would possibly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wiltonburn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiltonburn Farm

Address: Wiltonburn Farm, Hawick TD9 7LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wiltonburn Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wiltonburn Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wiltonburn Farm Hawick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wiltonburn Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.