We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B a real treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassendean B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hassendean B&B to your Saves list
Hassendean B&B
4 Hassendean Farm Cottages, Hawick TD9 8PU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hawick B&B and Inns
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great B&B a real treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My friend & I stayed one night & we were both shocked with the overall quality, warmth of welcome.

We had dogs which we left in the car at the back of the property but there was a backdoor which we could use making it really easy.

A real treat to find this B&B and I'll be booking for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bromyard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were passing through the area and just stayed overnight on our way. We were made most welcome on our arrival. The room was spotless and comfortable and the breakfast superb. We shall be thinking of a return trip in the future to stay and enjoy the wonderful countryside and of course sample the wonderful hospitality again at Hassendean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
John, thank you so much for your great review and we'll hope to see you again in the future, so you can do some exploring. I think Irene and I could have talked for another 3 days!! What a talented woman she is with all her craft hobbies. There is so much to see and do in the Borders, and Les and I can advise on day trips from here. So, take care and haste ye back!! Cheers Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in June 2013 and this is one of the best B&Bs we've ever been in.
Janet and Les were very friendly and accommodating, the food lovely.
The room was large, very clean and superbly fitted out, we'll definitely be back.
Chris and Eileen

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Chris and Eileen, we were so pleased to meet you both and share stories. Hope you have settled into your new home and had some decent weather to enjoy trips in your fab car. We've had some great days here so it feels very tropical (for Scotland). Hope to see you again if you are in the area again, cheers Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess hill
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We found the excellent B&B on Booking.com. We were looking for an overnight stop on our way home from a classic car rally. Janet and Les made us very welcome indeed. The accommodation is superb. Janet's home cooking is wonderful. We recommend this outstanding B&B unreservedly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hi Steve, thanks for taking the time to write a review - very much appreciated. We were so pleased that you and Kathryn found us here on your way through the Borders. Your car rally sounded amazing and you had clearly had a superb time. We still smile when we think of all the common topics between you and the other couple who were staying - brilliant! Take care and just call if you need accommodation again. Cheers Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for 2 nights in May 2013. The room was perfect and very clean. The breakfast was super yummy!!! And we ate dinner one night as well and it was a real treat! The couple that owns the B&B are very friendly and welcoming! We truly enjoyed our stay and would love to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Sarah and Jeremy, hope you had a great day at Edinburgh castle and a safe trip home. Thank you for your lovely review - it was great to meet you both and see your enjoyment of the Borders. We were so pleased that you managed to get to Fatlips castle - it's a real treat now that it's been refurbished. We will hope to see you again if you are back in the UK in the future. Take care Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while house hunting in the Borders area and we were very well looked after by Janet and Les. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and the breakfast and evening meal meal excellent (I recommend the fish pie)! We shall not hesitate to stay here again in the future. The surrounding area is truly beautiful and there are nice pub/restaurants close close by in Denholm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hi Hugh, Thank you for your great review, we really enjoyed meeting you and Chris and joining in your appreciation of the Borders. All the best with the house hunt, and let us know if we can advise on particular areas or locations. We are experiencing alternate good and bad weather days still, so everything is very green from the heavy downpours. My daughters are both home now, so you can imagine the excitement!! Take care and we will hope to see you again soon. Cheers Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Jaent and Les are excellent hosts and we felt very welcome!
The vegetarian food they prepared for us was delicious, the rooms are pretty and clean and they have a great range of DVDs. I'd definitley come back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Julia and Yvonne, thank you so much for the positive review of your stay with us, we really like your photographs showing inside and out in a different way. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Hermitage Castle and your drive through the Scottish Borders. Enjoy your summer back in Germany. Cheers Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hassendean B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassendean B&B

Address: 4 Hassendean Farm Cottages, Hawick TD9 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a converted farm cottage with bright, cosy en-suite rooms with a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside. We are in a rural setting very central for Hawick, Melrose and Jedburgh and welcome golfers, cyclists, motor cyclists and walkers. We have ample off road parking and use locally sourced produce for our full breakfast menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hassendean B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassendean B&B Hawick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassendean B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.