We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Scottish B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassendean B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hassendean B&B to your Saves list
Hassendean B&B
4 Hassendean Farm Cottages, Hawick TD9 8PU, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hawick B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Scottish B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Jaent and Les are excellent hosts and we felt very welcome!
The vegetarian food they prepared for us was delicious, the rooms are pretty and clean and they have a great range of DVDs. I'd definitley come back :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Hi Julia and Yvonne, thank you so much for the positive review of your stay with us, we really like your photographs showing inside and out in a different way. Hope you enjoyed your trip to Hermitage Castle and your drive through the Scottish Borders. Enjoy your summer back in Germany. Cheers Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

4 of us stayed here on our first night of cycling the border loop. This had everything we needed. A secure lock up for our bikes. Clean, modern, well equipped and comfortable rooms. We were late arriving and very hungry after cycling lots of miles. Les kindly gave us a lift into the village where head enjoyed a meal and then picked us up again when we were finished. Superb breakfast set us up nicely for the long days cycling ahead. Couldn't ask for more. Thanks Les & Janet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
We love the title of your review and your positive feedback, thanks very much. It was great to meet you all, amidst your challenging Border loop. Hope you had a superb weekend and enjoyed your stay with Brian in Melrose too. Hope to see you again some time in the future. Regards Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Many thanks to Janet and Les for looking after us so well and going the extra mile.Pleasant rooms, hearty breakfast and a lift to the pub ! Travelled there by bike and there is secure storage. Great location for cycling

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks very much for your review, Les and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the rest of your Border Loop went well. Hats off to you all for the daily mileage - we were very impressed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very clean and cosy place. Janet and Les were really friendly to us. We watched one of the thousends of movies in their collection, you wont be bored. Recommeded! The breakfast was tasty and we had a lovely chat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hi Kieran and Bram, it was great to meet you on your travels to Aviemore and the rest of Scotland! Hope you and your tyres had a safe trip on some lovely country roads. Good luck to both of you with your courses and Uni and work, enjoy the rest of your trip!! Cheers Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEVENOAKS KENT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night with Janet and Les at a lovely, welcoming B&B.
We arrived later than planned but were met outside by Janet who took us round to a secure motorbike parking area.
We had previously booked an evening meal with Janet and I would heartily recommend the home made fish pie!
The room was warm, comfortable and very clean.
If you are passing that way and need a biker friendly place to stay it is great!
Good luck Janet in your Poppy walk!
Thanks to you and Les for making us weary southerners welcome

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Kevin and Julia, thanks for the great review, Les and I thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both, and hope you had a safe trip up to Granton on Spey. Also, hope the weather stayed dry for bike riding, we've had rain and then full sunshine here in the last 2 days. Have a great time on your tour of Scotland and we'll hope to see you again sometime. Cheers Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Our party stayed with Janet and Les on Friday 22nd March. Arriving late we were welcomed with a wonderful pot of tea and friendly hosts. To be woken in the morning to the smell of freshly baked bread and a sumptuous breakfast will remain imprinted in our thoughts until next year when we hope to be back. Quality and cleanliness in definitely 5 Star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassendeanbandb, Owner at Hassendean B&B, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Donald, thank you so much for your lovely review, it was great to meet all of you and superb that Caroline came second in her class and 51st overall. We knew that the conditions were pretty challenging so she did really well. Please wish her all the very best in the rest of the Scottish Rally Championships and we hope to welcome you again next year. Cheers Janet and Les.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nafferton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hassendean B&B for 2 nights (18th/19th Jan 2013)
The Hassendean is a fantastic B&B, spotlessly clean. Les was very friendly and couldnt do enough for us.
The room had everything you could need and was very comfortable, food was delicious.
We took advantage of the sauna to take the chill from the bones after being out in the beautiful wintery countryside outside, a real added bonus.
We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hassendean B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassendean B&B

Address: 4 Hassendean Farm Cottages, Hawick TD9 8PU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a converted farm cottage with bright, cosy en-suite rooms with a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside. We are in a rural setting very central for Hawick, Melrose and Jedburgh and welcome golfers, cyclists, motor cyclists and walkers. We have ample off road parking and use locally sourced produce for our full breakfast menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hassendean B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassendean B&B Hawick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassendean B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.