We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent best bed and breakfast in hawick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teviotside Guest House

Teviotside Guest House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Teviotside Guest House to your Saves list
Teviotside Guest House
1 Teviotside Terrace, Hawick TD9 9QR, Scotland (Formerly Lux Bed & Breakfast))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hawick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent best bed and breakfast in hawick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I arrived at night, to see the owner Allan open the door for me as i came in, he took me and my husband to our room, 'room 1' the best room in the b and b. when i got here, I just parked outside the front, great parking spots too. i got into my room and chilled with my husband. the bath was excellent too! after our baths we got ready to go out for a meal, allan advised us to go to the indian was a good eat to. I had a good wekend away and im looking forward to the future to see allan again!, had a excellent time will be back with the hole family next time

Room Tip: rooms were good, id advise you to get room number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    2
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Rally enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Lux B&B whilst visinting family.
Spacious rooms for us and our 15 year old daughter. Amazing breakfast buffet with eggs cooked to order.
Had great chat with Alan whois genuinly committed to providing a great service for his guests.
Would recommend to others looking for good affordable accomodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just left the Lux after a good nights stay. We checked in with no problems, shown to our room by Alan who was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Provided us with a good cot and high chair with no charge. As we had a baby we asked to keep our room til later the following day and this was no problem and no charge. Great cooked breakfast and service.

previous reviews do not give an accurate picture of this b&b.

We did hear noise from the street at closing time but we chose to stay in a central location so this is to be expected.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Owner asked me to leave a comment so here goes. Rooms nothing like website photos. Shimsham of furniture. Thought we were booking into a boutique B&B so we were extremely disappointed. Room small for the £70 we paid for the night. Noise from teenage children heard most of the night through thin walls. Dining room - unsure of how to comment on this!! We felt uncomfortable eating here, unwelcoming and unpleasant to sit in due to left over food plates ( seemed like last nights supper ) and owners property lying around. Food ok, supermarket home branded, nothing spectacular. Tip for owner, return this B&B back to how it is presented in original photos and we would pay its worth. We won't hurry back. No way is this anywhere near a 3* B&B standard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived at the Lux B&B around 16.30 having travelled from Hertfordshire which was a 5-6 hour drive to go to a frends wedding on Saturday 1st December.
We where met by Alan the owner and had a very warm wellcome and helped us with our bags.
we then got taken to our room and where very happy with a nice big bed and bathroom.
We asked Alan where we could go and get something to eat and he pointed us to the town which was very close.
We arrived back after we had eaten and had a very good nights sleep.
We came down for breakfast in the morning and there was pleanty of breakfast to go round and very tasty.
We then finshed breakfast to get ready for the wedding we came down and asked Alan to book us a taxi and he said not a problem I will take you which is a very nice touch.
All in all our weekend at the Lux was excellant and will be going back to see a few more sites of Scotland.
Well done Alan and to all your staff keep up the good work.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at Lux B&B in Hawick for one night - a short business trip in Autumn 2012. My room (6) was adequate but nothing great. Although, on the surface, it looked very presentable modern and fresh, on closer inspection, the B&B does need a bit of a spruce-up.

The most worrying thing was the alcove ceiling over the double bed. The wall covering there looked quite iffy. It had ‘bubbled’ (through damp? Mould?) and threatened to peel off. Not at all appealing. The bathroom also had significant mould around the shower – again nothing that an hour or so’s effort wouldn’t put right.

The breakfast was a bit bland, to be honest, with cheap supermarket own brand versions of cereals etc. I couldn’t help thinking that a couple of quid invested in quality comestibles like Kelloggs Cornflakes etc. would make a difference. Instead, the impression I got was of a somewhat tired accommodation, with everything being done ‘on the cheap’

For £50 a night, I felt this was a bit steep. I won’t be back in a hurry

Adequate but ‘Lux’ sure isn't short for ‘Luxury’

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After arriving at the wrong b&b (next door, looked nice) I was slightly flustered and concerned to be greeted by teenager and shown into a basement room. I needn't have been. My room was fine, a comfy double with doorless ensuite, the breakfast was buffet style and of good quality, the host was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Teviotside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teviotside Guest House

Address: 1 Teviotside Terrace, Hawick TD9 9QR, Scotland (Formerly Lux Bed & Breakfast))
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Hawick
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Hawick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Teviotside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teviotside Guest House Hawick, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teviotside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.