We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for all occasions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsknowes Hotel

Kingsknowes Hotel
Tweed Road, Galashiels, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Galashiels
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for all occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten at the Kingsknowes for a few years I felt it time to write a review. The courtyard bar is dated but not dirty and the food and service put a spring in your step. The menu is similar to most establishments in the area but they seem to execute it better. The service is great, always friendly, always welcoming and they seem to recognise us! Not sure if that's a good thing or not! Best fish and chips around, and if you have any dietary requirements they are always happy to oblige. The decor could do with modernisation, but it's always busy and the ambiance totally overrides any initial doubts you may have, plus the food is great. They also make a really good cappuccino or latte, there seems to be more attention to detail than other places about, always wanting to please there customers, makes you feel a bit special! I know someone who got married here as well and they couldn't sing there praises enough! Good food, great service, happy staff and even happier guests. I'm sure that's all you can ask for on your wedding day!

I would recommend the kingsknowes to anyone, for a function or a quick tea, it's always been good to us and we will keep returning!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Elegant building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Pleasant, but not inspiring. Feels a bit dated, but have not seen the rooms.
Beautiful hallway with all sizes of function rooms, and a conservatory.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“One that's got it right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a midweek lunch here. Service was excellent. Met at the door by smartly dressed, cheerful waiter who showed us to a table and took drinks order. Left to peruse the menu. My companion choose a fish dish and I chicken. Both meals arrived freshly made and were well presented. Absolutely delicious! Staff continued to be attentive without being annoying! Coffee after our meal was served in a pot with a piece of tablet to nibble. This is a relaxing oasis in Galashiels. My only criticism is that the décor is tired, but like most busy places, probably too man customers want to sample the food for the bar and restaurant to close for redecoration! Keep up these standards please.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here with a friend. The food was excellent (we had steak and ale pie and lasagne) and seemed to be freshly made. Good portions, and reasonable prices.
Tea and coffee served in pots, so plenty of refills, and a piece of tablet to go with it. Lovely.
I would definitely go back if I happened to be in Galashiels again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good food tired surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

sunday lunch, waited over an hour for food to come, which was very good but too long to wait, hotel surroundings very tired

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingsknowes Hotel also viewed

Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
 
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Kingsknowes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsknowes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.