We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbotsford Arms Hotel

Abbotsford Arms Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Abbotsford Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Abbotsford Arms Hotel
63 Stirling Street, Galashiels TD1 1BY, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

had a very nice 2day stay room was very comfy and clean staff were extremely helpful bathroom newly fitted with walk in shower food piping hot and good very near to melrose visited traquair house breakfast hot cooked if you want cereal juice

Room Tip: ours was at the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    11
    8
    16
See reviews for
7
24
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Cold room because window wouldn't shut. Shower would not drain away. Serves wrong food from what was ordered. Breakfast room in darkness and locked from 8am till 9.30am (was meant to be between 8am and 10am) and no staff on site to ask what was going on. Generally terrible!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

stayed at abbotsford arms was in middle of being renivated will be intrested see what looks like when all finished
rooms very basic but with good eye for detail could be stunning
great bar manager food dinner was lovley breakfast quite basic

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent four days recently at the Abbotsford arms hotel with our grand sons where the manager and staff could not have been nicer.
The hotel is undergoing a revamp and although the rooms were very clean and tidy they still needed some extras.
The food can only be described as excellent.
We booked in for bed and breakfast but the food was so good we had our main meal of the day in the hotel.
An added bonus for us was that they allowed us to bring our dog.
I think that when all the proposed work is done it will be the in place to stay in Galashields.
Would most certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night and although renovations r goin on it is still an enjoyable place. The rooms r basic and.clean.but has all u need and very comfortable bed. The food was lovely and plenty on ur plate. Staff were accomodating and friendly. Would definately reccomend this hotel if goin to galashiels. Nightlife was rotten in town centre and would avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a great night in this hotel. Rooms basic but clean. Had a meal in the restraunt and it was very tasty. Service in the bar area was great, all very friendly. Nightlife in Gala is pretty good, would definatly recomend Reivers. They had a live band on that night and the drinks are pretty cheap. All in all had a great trip and would definatly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

As two couples off for a 60th birthday weekend away we all had a great time, Mainly due to our three young hosts (Reece, Emily and Andy) who were fun and keen to provide great service to make our stay as good as they could. We arrived and our rooms were small, very clean, new carpets, fresh coat of paint - but small and basic. We all agreed they could do with an interior decorators touch to ensure bedside cabinets, adequate hanging space etc. We had the evening meal with wine - all of which was good. In fact the meal was very good. We spent the evening in the bar playing pool with staff and locals and were made to feel really welcome. This is young team keen to raise the level of service provided. If we are down Galashiels way again we will stay here and look forward to seeing how the proposed improvements turn out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbotsford Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Arms Hotel

Address: 63 Stirling Street, Galashiels TD1 1BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Galashiels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Galashiels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has just been taken over by a new company with the drive to bring it back to its original state. we have a very efficient team ready to help anyone with any problems.we now currently have a General Manager living on the premises to help you 24 hours a day and we are currently undertaking renovation projects in the bedrooms and bar to make a more enjoyable stay for everyone.Situated in the heart of Galashiels, the Abbotsford Hotel provides an ideal venue for the business traveler and tourist alike. Galashiels is steeped in history and is home to some of the country's wonderful sporting challenges including the famous Rugby Sevens. Abbotsford Hotel is the ideal accommodation choice for those wanting to explore Borders Country and lovers of all things Scottish.With a convenient location just across the road from Galashiels Bus Station and just a short walk to the town centre, the hotel is a great base from which guests can explore the many sights and attractions of Galashiels and surrounding areas.The hotel boasts a traditional bar that serves delicious food as well as a wide variety of beverages in a warm and welcoming setting or alternatively, you can take your drink outside to the lovely beer garden and enjoy some fresh air in a beautiful outdoor setting.If you are looking for a hot drink, visit the Coffee shop where guests have a further selection of beverages and snacks. Abbotsford Hotel also has a conference and function room, ideal for a business meeting or presentation, and offers guests free access to the internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbotsford Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbotsford Arms Hotel Galashiels, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbotsford Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.