We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in Oban” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heatherfield House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Heatherfield House to your Saves list
Heatherfield House
Albert Road, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Cheddar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in Oban”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed one night in Oban on a touring holiday of western Scotland. Didn't like Oban town a whole lot but the surrounding area is gorgeous (check out nearby Seil Island and Connel, both delightful). We'd previously stayed in two outstanding B&Bs in Mallaig and Callander, both cheaper by twenty quid or so per night than this one. Very comfortable overall, great room and bathroom (impressive!). Nice comfy beds and very clean throughout. The placed is on a hill overlooking the sea and town, easy walk to most places. The breakfast was absolutely fine but not a B&B "classic" (or maybe we're getting choosy...). Not the friendliest place we've stayed in either, to be honest.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
154
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived earlier than expected after a long journey and Sue and Gary could not have done more to welcome us, for which we were very grateful. The house is lovely, the room was lovely. There was a good choice at breakfast, and the food was tailored to your requirements. The bed was comfy, the shower was luxurious. Handy for the town, the ferry, McCaig's tower. Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Third stay at this excellent hotel. The house is lovely and the bedrooms we have stayed in have all been very comfy and well decorated, it's the finishing touches and attention to detail that makes Heatherfield so special. They serve the best breakfast of any hotel we have ever stayed in; the table linen is pristine and the food is really well presented. Already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a lovely house and beautifully decorated. The view from our room was lovely, and the room was large with a good sized bathroom and enormous shower. The breakfast was as good as any elsewhere. Like others, it felt more like a hotel than a B&B as we didn't really interact with our hosts. However we would stay again if we were in the region. Off-street parking and a central location were great too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltcoats
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Just back from a couple of days stay in oban. Stayed at the wonderful heatherfields house hotel. This is a beautiful b&b situated just behind the main street of oban.
On arrival greated and shown to our room. Room was beautiful! Excellent taste in decor! Very comfortable and clean with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits!
Oh yes and a little chocolate treat!

Excellent location for easy access to the main town of oban. Even though close to the town very quite for a very rested sleep.

Breakfast is excellent! Hot breakfast, fresh fruit, cereal, pastries, yoghurt superb!

We honestly couldnt ask for anythin else during out stay here!

Will be highly recommended to friends ad family.
Thank you for an excellent stay :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A really nice guest house with great rooms,modern decor.
The beds are really comfy, bathrooms spotless, quiet but central location.
Great choice for breakfast, good service and nice staff as well.

A real winner!

Just to note- no kids under 14!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for my birhday at the beginning of March. We chose Heatherfield House based on the reviews on trip advisor and we were not dissapointed.

We were given a warm welcome, and allowed to check in early as we arrived in Oban at 2pm.

The room was beautiful and spotless; we particularly liked the fluffy robes and gorgeous roll top bath in our lovely bathroom.

The breakfast was fantastic, and I would definitely recommend pre-ordering the porridge- so delicious with cream and sugar!

The B&B is also in a great situation, two minutes walk from the high street.

All in all a fantastic stay, for a great price. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heatherfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherfield House

Address: Albert Road, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful Victorian house overlooking Oban bay. Within a few minutes walk of the ferry and train terminals and the town centre with it restaurants and bars. Homemade produce is served including sausages and preserves and eggs are courtesy of our own chickens. Ample private parking is available in the grounds of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Heatherfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherfield House Hotel Oban
Heatherfield House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heatherfield House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.