We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant

The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant
1 The Railway Pier, Oban PA34 4LW, Scotland
+44 1631 563110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 79 Restaurants in Oban
Price range: $23 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Set in idyllic Oban on the North West coast of Scotland, Waterfront Restaurant offers sumptuously fresh fish and seafood in a cutesy boathouse-style setting. Whilst enjoying stunning views over Oban Bay, guests can sample fine local catches, delicious fish classics and an impressive world wine list. Luxurious delicacies are served from the Waterfront oyster bar, as well as nautical-themed cocktails and international beers from the bar.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Another great find in Oban. I liked the item I ordered so much - I photographed it. Something I rarely do. The mixed fish plate I had was wonderfully fresh, and beautifully presented.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan R, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you Janice for leaving a lovely review with us at the Waterfront Fishouse. I am very pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    255
    77
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are in Oban, you must have the fish at this lovely restaurant.

I had cooked langastines...my husband had cold. Both were very good

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan R, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your short yet lovely review of our restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely family lunch here on Sunday.We often dine here but this was the first time we had eaten off the lunch menu.We couldn't believe how generous the portions were and everything we had was delicious, beautifully presented and also the service couldn't be faulted.We will most certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan R, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review. Our Lunch and Early Evening menu is a great way to try our fresh fish and for only £11.99 is value for money. We are glad you enjoyed everything about our restaurant from food to service and we look forward to seeing you and your family in the near future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“2nd visit and more to come”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ate here with family on a Friday night and ate from the early evening menu.Great value and food was extremely fresh.Fish straight off the boat and into kitchen. Service was excellent and staff could not do enough for us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan R, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. I'm very glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and found our staff to be excellent. We hope you will visit us the next time you are in Oban to try some more of our great dishes.Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Grat food - packed restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Was very happy with the food. Not a cheap place, but did not mind paying the bill after a great food experience!! Would definitely go back.
The staff is very pleasant, although at first I found thrm a bit rigid- we were 10 min early and they couldnt accommodate us even though there were a couple of free tables.
All in all a very goid experience though!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan R, Manager at The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our restaurant, its great to get wonderful feedback. I am sorry that you found our staff at first to be "rigid" however with being such a busy restaurant we always have a plan to give booked tables the best view that we can! This will possibly be why you were asked to wait until your table was ready. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Fishouse Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.