We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you want?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthornbank Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hawthornbank Guest House to your Saves list
Hawthornbank Guest House
Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What more could you want?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have returned from staying six nights in the Hawthornbank. This was one of my best vacations. The Trip Advisor reviews led to high expectations, and everything was more than hoped for. Room 8 gave a view of the harbor through roof windows; a window in the back showed the bowling green. Room size was fine, and there were two comfortable chairs in addition to the bed. Breakfast selections were more and better than could be reasonably expected. (If you don’t like bangers, eat bacon or smoked salmon and eggs.) Morven is the perfect hostess. Precise control of the shower temperature was unexpected. Bonus extra: a wash cloth (face flannel) was provided without my asking. Perhaps the only useful thing I can add to the previous praise is how to reach the place on foot: From George Street (the main road away from the water), take Nursery Lane (next to Taj Mahal restaurant) up the hill for a short block. Turn right at the first opportunity, up a pedestrian path. At the end of the metal railing, take the first left up another walkway. The doorway to the guest house is marked, on your right. (It is easy.)

Room Tip: Room 8 gave views both front and back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    23
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
105
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Oban was our first port of call after a long flight from Australia. How wonderful it was to be greeted so warmly by Morven. Our room was pretty and quiet, the bed comfortable, and the breakfasts delicious (thank you Robert). The house has a lovely view over the bay and it is a quick and easy walk into the town centre. Great to have off-street parking. We would definitely stay again and have already recommended Hawthornbank to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Oban its one of the most beautiful places to go in your trip through Scotland. We spent only one night but if we had known how nice Hawthornbank is with sure we would have booked at least two nights.
Perfect located, one of the most incredible views we have ever seen in a room, you can park the car and go walking to everywhere.
Morven is a marvellous hostess that cooks a really tasteful breakfast and she transmits your the most purely scotish hospitability. Please go and check it by yourself ...

Room Tip: The queen room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a pleasure it was to have such a wonderful place to stay for 2 nights in at Oban. It was in a perfect position for views and walking to town and the pier without having to take the car. The room was comfortable and clean, Morven was a marvellous hostess and when we had to leave early the second morning she packed us a great breakfast. This place was a real find.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Lovely, homely B&B. Nice room, good breakfast, view over bay of Oban. Morven a welcoming landlady. Parking spaces to rear off back lane. 2 minute stroll from town centre. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed for 1 week at the Hawthornbank guest house, where we both had a wonderful time in truly lovely surroundings. We highly recommend the Regency room as it is very tastefully decorated and has a welcoming atmosphere. The views over Oban bay are also excellent from this room. Morven was very attentive and friendly and provided much appreciated advice on the best places to eat out. Thanks Morven for the recommendation of the Manor hotel where we enjoyed an excellent meal to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Angus, Scotland.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked for two nights at the end of August to visit old haunts and family in Oban. As the Regency room was not available for the two nights, we were booked into room 7. Although at the back of the house, this room has a pleasant open outlook over the local bowling green. Some of the furniture is due for upgrading, but Morven tells us she has an ongoing winter refurbishment programme which should deal with this. We received a very warm welcome from Morven, and she kindly moved us into the fabulous Regency room after one night - thanks! Both beds were comfortable, and the Regency room, with its antique four poster and appropriate regency furniture is just fantastic, with panoramic views over Oban Bay and the Island of Kerrera to the Firth of Lorne and the Isle of Mull.

The dining room is tastefully decorated in an "Arts & Crafts" style. A good selection was available at breakfast, and was well prepared and served by Morven, who always seems to have a cheery smile and time to chat. She can advise on the restaurants in town (of which there is a good selection to suit all tastes), and things to do in the area. The main restaurants, and indeed the town, are within a 5-10 minutes walk from the front door. You arrive at the back of the house, where there is adequate off-street parking (a rarity in Oban!).

We can certainly recommend Hawthornbank, and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The Regency room is the best and very spacious. The Victorian room has the same view but is slightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthornbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthornbank Guest House

Address: Dalriach Road, Oban PA34 5JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hawthornbank Guest House is a delightful Victorian villa built in 1873. It is pleasantly situated in a slightly elevated position, close to Oban town centre yet in a quiet residential setting. There is off street parking and a footpath leads from the front garden towards the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawthornbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthornbank Guest House Hotel Oban
Hawthornbank Guest House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthornbank Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.