We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast, forgettable room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alltavona Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alltavona Guest House to your Saves list
Alltavona Guest House
Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great breakfast, forgettable room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights while touring in the area. Our room was just behind the breakfast room. The bed was comfortable, but took up most of the space in the room. This was fine as we didn't spend much time in the room. There isn't much common space either. Breakfast was wonderful and service attentive.

Room Tip: avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    38
    16
    11
    3
See reviews for
18
92
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Alltavona and were VERY disappointed - definately not worth the four star rating and the price we were charged.
The house was a beautiful Victorian villa and the room had lovely antique furniture which sadly was far too big for the small room - I still have the bruises on my side where I squeezed between the bed and wall to prove it. Although the bedding was clean the mattress and pillows on the bed were very tired and worn making for two uncomfortable sleepless nights.
The bathroom was also worn and tired - the shower head did not adjust and was wedged together by a piece of wood - not good when one of us is over 6 feet tall and the other under five feet tall. The shower door was broken ( good job we were not wanting privacy when taking a shower). The bathroom cabinet was also broken and did not open - the glass front smashed and held together with celotape making knowhere except the top of the toilet to put our toothbrush and other bits and bobs.
The wardrobe only contained five coathangers. Whether the four start rating differs in Scotland I have no idea but in England six coathangers per person is required for this rating.. We found it very difficult to hang all our clothes up - doubling/trebling up was the only answer.

Sadly - we will not return to Alltavona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am sorry when booking you did not realize you would have to pay the amount agreed when checking out.

We would have been only to glad to rectify the problems you encountered when paying, during your stay if we had been informed.

I do take all guests comments on board when reading a review and try to rectify any problems which could be over come.

The shower cabinet is not broken but on checking was in fact forced of its runners but has now been put back on, the shower head is not held with a bit of wood but is in fact the rubber to enable the shower to be moved up and down by pressing the button on the fitting.
If such a simple devise, to adjust the height if this could not have been figured out then if you had contacted us we would have shown you how it operated.
The door to the toilet again does close when turning the lock , again a simple devise and easy to operate!
The bathroom is tiled from ceiling to floor and floor with high quality Spanish tiles all grout is white and does not need replacing, how can this look tired!!!

On checking the wardrobe there is twelve coat hangers and if you needed more for a two night stay , you only had to ask.

Our mattress on this bed is of good quality and is fairly firm, not old and worn as you have stated ,perhaps if you are used to a soft cheaper mattress then you might find a firmer mattress not to your taste. The pillows are also of high quality man made fiber (due to alergies) and frequently replaced.
If you had asked for feather pillows we would have replaced them and if possible could have moved rooms for you.

Why did you stay two nights and not give us a chance to rectify your problems and only say this when it is time to pay your bill.

Perhaps if you require a special type of pillow or are used to your own , it might be an idea when traveling to bring your own.

It seems unfair to say that the room is not four star quality as we had recently had our Visit Scotland Grading this month and we are well above our four rating.

I do hope other reviewers to take the time to read all the other great reviews.

I am also sorry we do try very hard to keep our guests happy but mattresses and pillows differ from customer to customer.

Again we would have really liked to have had the opportunity to rectify the situation but were never given the chance,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

In the two week tour of Scotland/Ireland, this was on the top of my list for favorite B&Bs. Elegant, beautiful antiques, bedding was top rate and comfortable, lots of hot water. Conrad's recommendation of restaurants was perfect, excellent seafood in a seaside restaurant. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: LOVED LOVED LOVED this B&B. Location was way closer to the center of town than I realized... a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Beautifully converted Victorian house . Our bedroom was large and well appointed with a fabulous view of Oban bay and the islands .The breakfast was varied , delicious and plentiful well cooked and well served . Carol was very helpful and the staff were pleasant and atentive .We would definitely stay there again . C .Gibson

Room Tip: For a magnificent view chose room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Yes, BandBs offer trade-offs. This one, like many, is a converted Victorian home. Our bathroom was great. But the bedrooms are tiny and too much extra furniture crammed in makes the room virtually impassable. And the public area downstairs is a tiny room so jammed with a few chairs and a table of flyers for local attractions, that you cannot walk around! The owner seems to be trying...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feed back as guest house owners we try to accommodate our guest needs.

Changing the linen and throw when you asked and moving things you did not like!

I note from your review you found your room cramped and small, this room had a double bed and if you are used to a King size bed or super King bed you might have found it smaller than you were used to.
We have had another great review from a guest who stayed in the same room you occupied for four nights and they were delighted with this room.

Perhaps with two large suitcases the room could appear small.

I also note that the table in the hall did annoy you and this is to be removed which would not make the small sitting area not so cluttered.

This is also my home and my taste in decor and furniture but take your comments on board.

As you state I am trying and I must also say that some of our guests are also trying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We cut short our stay at this b@b as we didn't feel it was up to the standard which it was graded.
A deep clean of the toilet was also required. For this reason we also didn't take breakfast. I will be e-mailing the tourist board as I feel they are just "rubber stamping" the grade already given for each establishment.

Room Tip: Please understand that the photos of the rooms are many years old and decor is of a poor standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolAHarris, Owner at Alltavona Guest House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I am sorry you did not like Alltavona when entering and you did not enjoy your visit and disappointed that you did not stay and refused to pay the full amount due for the one nights stay.

I am sorry you did not feel that Alltavona did not meet the four star standard that Visit Scotland , Hart Holidays , Bits Tours ,Mitchell Guide, Rick Steves Tours, Scottish Accommodation Index, British Travel Company, Celtic Resin,Sean Buckley, Absolute Escapes and Rabbies Tours have given.

All these companies have visited Alltavona and have continued to do business with Alltavona for 14 years.

The rubber stamp as you call it has been issued for 14 years by all individual companies and individual grading officers , surely all the above can not be wrong.

The cleaning of our bathrooms are cleaned daily and dispute your alligation your bathroom needed a deep clean!
The grading officer in fact did visit Alltavona two days before you arrived and we received top marks for cleaning.
I hope when other reviewers read your review they will also read the other reviews which rave about the cleanliness and good standards which we have achieved.

We do take all guests constructive comments into consideration and try to rectify any problems which might occur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night and generally really enjoyed it. We were greeted by a member of staff who was very happy to help and showed us to our room despite not appearing to know about our booking (we had the email confirmation so were able to show him that). Unfortunately the tv was not working (not that we came to Oban to watch TV but its nice to be able to catch the news) so after the same member of staff had tried unsuccessfully to fix it, we were offered another room. We had the choice of 3 rooms but went for 9 which was next to the other room and was perfectly adequate for our needs. The bedroom was tastefully decorated, very comfortable and we slept well. As noted in other reviews the bathroom was small with nowhere to lay out your toiletries. Breakfast was good and we liked the buffet style as you can choose exactly what you want. My only observation with regard to breakfast was that the fried eggs were a little hard as they had been sitting in the buffet pan keeping warm. It might be nice if these could be cooked to order so as to enjoy them at their best. The only thing I felt the Alltavona was missing was a little atmosphere / ambience as we did not see anyone except the young man who helped us when we first arrived and a girl who was there to help at breakfast time alongside the young man. They were both friendly enough but lacked some of the warmth I associate with Scottish hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alltavona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alltavona Guest House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alltavona House is situated on Oban's select Corran esplanade overlooking Oban Bay and the surrounding Islands. Alltavona is a family run guest house famed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. Guests arriving at Alltavona for the first time, are immediately aware that this is a house of outstanding quality, where no effort has been spared to provide a level of elegance and refinement in keeping with its original character. Magnificent unobstructed views. Four star Visit Scotland Tourist Board Grading and Four star AA Grading. Ten minutes walk into town,queit location ,private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alltavona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alltavona Guest House Hotel Oban
Alltavona Guest House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alltavona Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.