We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay should have been longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lochvoil House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochvoil House
Save
You added Lochvoil House to your Saves list
Dunuaran Road, Oban PA34 4NE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Two night stay should have been longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lovely lovely lovely Clean well appointed room , beautiful view, friendly, engaging and very hospitable hosts Sheila and Kenneth. The breakfast was delicious with superbly presented fresh fruit and all the trimmings followed by a carefully prepared English breakfast and a great Bodum of fresh coffee
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

An unexpected 2-day stop in Oban due to car trouble turned out to be a pleasure. Tourist Information at the Pier booked up Loch Voil House. We were worried we wouldn't be able to find a room as Oban was extremely busy. We had a lovely stay with genuinely friendly hosts, Sheila and Kenneth. The room was immaculate and the breakfast was terrific. Sheila also phoned and booked a lovely restaurant for that night's meal and recommended another one for the following night. Due to her advice and enthusiasm we went to the island of Kerrera and had a great day, despite the rain! An excellent guest house - would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We first came across in April of this year and we are so glad we did. The location of the guest house if topnotch as it is only a 5 minute stroll from Oban town centre. The guest house a an spectacular view of Oban and its harbour. The hosts Sheila and Kenneth are in my opinion the best hosts in the whole of Oban, They are very accommodating and friendly, Sheila always has time to talk and recommend things to do in the area.

We stayed in the twin room, which is a rather large room which has a panoramic view of Oban. In the morning breakfast is always perfect, when you enter the dining room Sheila has already prepared a delicious plate of fruit which is waiting for you at your table, as a starter. The cooked breakfast was super, very fresh ingredients. As an added bonus Sheila bakes daily for you at breakfast, the first morning she had baked rolls and the next day banana bread.

We really enjoyed our second stay at the Lochvoil House and will definitely be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have stayed here before and were so eager to return.
Shelia & Kenneth are the most considerate hosts you could ever meet, nothing is too much trouble.
Such a pleasure to visit again n again.

Location-Great
Rooms- Spotless, homely with lovely touches
Views- Over town & harbour
Breakfast- Superb, Shelia freshly bakes everyday too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were travelling early Saturday Morning to Coll, we had not booked anywhere and I am so glad we had not. We knocked the door of Lochvoil House and we were met with a warm welcome lucky for us they had Double Room for the night. We had a very early start so would miss breakfast. Sheila did deduct the this from nightly rate, but still told us to help ourselves to to fruit etc., she showed us the kithchen for milk and juice as we had a 6am start. These extra touches make a big difference. We were also left home baked fruit loaf which was amazing.
It is in a great location, spotless and comfortable. We will be back for a longer stay.
Angela & Robert Watson Glasgow

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just returned from an exceptional visit to lochvoil house with my daughter and son in law. Sheila and Kenneth where very welcoming and there knowledge of the area is second to none as we found out when looking for ideas for our days out. The accomodation was excellent and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was better than you would recieve in a 5 star hotel, and Sheila's home baking was first class. We will recommend this accomodation to all our family and friends who are thinking of visiting this area of Scotland and we cant wait to return ourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent however the 2 rooms at the front have exceptional views over Oban harbour an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Coming back from Skye, we stopped in Oban for a night. We hadn't booked anything and came at random in Lochvoil Guest House. We were warm welcomed and found the location of the house quite outstanting, near the city, remote and calm, dominating the harbour.
The service is great, the quality of beds also. Breakfast of high quality ( porridge ! ).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lochvoil House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochvoil House

Address: Dunuaran Road, Oban PA34 4NE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lochvoil House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lochvoil House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.