We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with very comfortable beds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alt na Craig House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alt na Craig House to your Saves list
Alt na Craig House
Glenmore Road, Oban PA34 4PG, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location with very comfortable beds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the guest house for 2 nights. The room was very comfortable and luxurious, better than any hotel stay we've experienced before. The staff are very friendly and accommodating making us a packed breakfast on one morning because we were taking an early ferry to Mull. Breakfast the next day was lovely with great choices to suit all tastes and diets. I made the mistake of leaving my hair straighteners behind and Sandy (The owner) sent them to free of charge which was much appreciated. We can't fault this guest house and would love to go back every year.

Room Tip: This is in a quiet area just south of the town but within walking distance. All rooms would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    22
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
295
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May 2013 and found it to be a delightful and spotless bed and breakfast. It was the best shower/bathroom in the whole trip and believe me we did experience some pretty dreadful bathrooms. The bedroom was very comfortable with wood panel walls and french doors leading to a small patio with table and chairs overlooking the extensive gardens - the perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine if the weather permits. Owners and staff were very friendly, helpful and informative about the area. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and presented and served in the lounge/dining room which had fantastic views of the bay. We loved the fact that it was only a short walk into the town where there were many restaurants to choose from. Thank you Ina and Sandy for making our stay in Oban enjoyable -despite the rain! The only suggestion I would make would be to provide a couple of wine glasses in the room. I would certainly recommend anyone visiting Oban to stay at Alt Na Craig.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you want a first class place to stay...this is it. The only place we would stay in Oban. Alt Na Craig is set in lovely grounds, the location is peaceful, with fantastic views across the bay, yet only a short walk into the town, which has a variety of restaurants. The house itself is beautiful, everything is spotlessly clean, and of a high standard. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated and furnished, with large comfortable beds. Linen and towel immaculate and the softest robes I have ever felt. The breakfast menu caters for all and is freshly prepared, truly excellent. This was our second stay, and this year was as perfect as last, the same high standards have continued. We had been on a touring holiday, and this was our final stop, but it was by far, the best place we stayed on our travels. I would highly recommend Alt na Craig House to anyone. Sandy and Ina are the perfect host, and along with their team will ensure you have a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at the Alt Na Craig House on a road trip through Scotland and just loved it. The house is incredibly charming, and the grounds were wonderfully relaxing after a few days stay in Edinburgh. Our room was beautiful and had a postcard-worthy view of the Oban bay—even from the clawfoot bathtub. Breakfast in the morning was some of the best food we've had all trip—try the savoury pancakes. Our overall feeling: we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Missus & I spent three nights in Oban at Alt na Craig House. Situated above the street into town, views from the front yard and many of the rooms (including the corner we were fortunate to occupy) are magnetic - looking across the Bay to Mull (on a clear day) and across the town/harbor toward McKaig's Tower.

Our room was spacious, comfortable and restful - all one needs, plus reliable Wi-Fi (a major "plus" for the Missus). Breakfasts are indeed wonderful; individually prepared with the finest, freshest ingredients, and served in the homey Parlor.

But what makes this House truly special is the People. Sandy & Ina MacArthur and their Team are so wonderfully kind, friendly, accessible and helpful - it can feel as if you're staying with gracious friends (when was the last time you were picked up while walking into town in the rain by your Inn's Proprietors, who just happened to be passing by?). These folks really know their town & territory; their advice, guidance and recommendations were invaluable (if Sandy tells you that the weather that day will probably make a trip to Iona calmer than a trip to Staffa, believe him!).

In short: our stay at Alt na Craig House was indeed one of the best parts of our visit to Oban. Thank you!

Room Tip: Upstairs, facing the Bay - a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights with Sandy and Ina. Lovely and quiet. Our hosts were the best - great breakfast, so helpful with planning local outings and packed us a breakfast to go for our early departure. The room was spacious and comfortable. Highly recommend!!
Deb and Paul K

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Enjoyed a two night Sat 16/-17/5/13 on route to Mull. Excellent all round -rooms spacious & spotless; extremely good choice for breakfast & all cooked fresh to order; warm welcome by hosts. Lovely quiet setting with beautiful views. Could not want for anything better, & would not hesitate to recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: front superior rooms have wonderful views onto oban bay & great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alt na Craig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alt na Craig House

Address: Glenmore Road, Oban PA34 4PG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Obans'first STB 4* GOLD award guest house which has been sympathetically refurbished to offer bed and breakfast in luxury boutique style accommodation whilst preserving many of its stunning original features.Each of the six spacious guest rooms has its own special character and the deluxe fabrics and furnishings have been chosen with these in mind. Although it enjoys the serenity of a rural location Alt na Craig is only a short walk away from the centre of Oban and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alt na Craig House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alt Na Craig House Hotel Oban
Alt Na Craig House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alt na Craig House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.