We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thornloe Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thornloe Guest House to your Saves list
Thornloe Guest House
Albert Rd, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Lincs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Super place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are going to Oban and want somewhere that is central with good views, good breakfast, quality accomodation and helpful owners then this is it!

Due to the sparce train service I arrived late(more trains next year which having checked before was no problem), to be shown a warm and inviting room on the third floor. Keys to come and go as I pleased, after a filling breakfast, checking out the day on the WiFi it was a few minutes walk into the town centre. Parking is no problem if you travel by car.

Lashings of hot water and biscuits with the in room tea and coffee! What more could you want?

Visit Oan and stay at the Thornloe. I concur with other reviewers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    36
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
43
116
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can not fault this beautiful guest house. Everything was spotless and fresh. We stayed 2 nights in a beautiful room with a magnificent sea view. Very welcoming and everything you could possible want ...parking, excellent breakfast, central location, quiet and of course clean. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 ...fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On my first trip to Scotland, this was one of the hotels that I stayed at. I only wish I had stayed more than one night because my room was amazing! I had a beautiful view of the bay, a 4 poster bed, the room was bright, beautiful and clean. Breakfast was so good, and Val was an amazing host. I love this hotel. If I make it back to Oban, this will be the place that I stay. Oban was a beautiful location with friendly people. Definitely visit Oban and stay at Thornloe if you are visiting Scotland!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was clean and fresh and bedding and towels where first rate.. We slept very well.

The breakfast was also excellent with a good range to choose from.

If we come that way again we will definately stay again and we;ve already reccommended it to other friends.

One word for our stay at the Thornloe. SUPERB. ;-)

Room Tip: The service is so good here that I think any room would be appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night last Friday. Was contacted by the owner by email a few days before our stay as they would be away on our estimated time of arrival. It was offered to leave a key behind for us, but as we wanted to leave the car and look around it was no problem at all for us. We had room 7 on the top floor with a great view over Oban. Lots of space in the room, and separate living room area. Breakfast in the morning was hearty indeed with a good choice. We certainly didnt leave hungry! Was very happy with the stay and would definitely choose to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davisburg, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late July and it was just wonderful. We had rooms 5 and 6 (which has an especially magnificent view of Oban), which were spotless. Great location as well - just a very short and pleasant walk and you're in downtown Oban. We loved the breakfasts and Alan and Val were very helpful in providing directions when needed. They couldn't have been nicer. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we visit Oban, (which will hopefully be sooner rather than later).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewarton, Ayrshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We found Thornloe online. It was just as described in the website. Lovely house, our room was a good size and spotlessly clean, the en suite was well equipped and again spotlessly clean. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. Valerie was friendly and helpful but not over the top. Would definitely recommend and we will return if staying in Oban again.

Room Tip: The view from the sea facing rooms is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thornloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornloe Guest House

Address: Albert Rd, Oban PA34 5EJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Guest House with Stunning Views across to Mull. Situated on a hill less than 5 minutes to George Street the main street in Oban. 4 of our 7 en suite rooms have sea views. Thornloe is strictly non smoking throughout house and grounds. Children over 11 welcome. 7 en suite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thornloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornloe Guest House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thornloe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.