We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alderlea Guesthouse

Alderlea Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alderlea Guesthouse to your Saves list
Alderlea Guesthouse
Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting Oban. The rooms were clean and comfortable (good bathroom) and the breakfasts were good too (set us up for a day in the Highlands). The price was good and although this B&B isn't really a luxury place, I don't think that is what it's aiming for - it's a decent place with a decent price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
thank you very much for taking the opportunity to right your review. I am glad you had a nice stay.
you are right we do not aim to be a 5 star establishment. we are a family run guesthouse that welcomes everyone. with the current financial problems world wide we feel a clean room, comfort , good breakfast and all the neseseties needed i.e towels, tea/coffee making facilities, wardrobe space, hair dyers, flat screen t.v , iron and ironing board and most rooms being en-suite are what we offer for a great affordable price which you mentioned as well thank you. we feel for us to start putting luxury items in rooms will mean we have to increase our tariff which in turn would not help Alderlea house which the majority now a days prefer to go for the cheaper alternative. we how ever do not put our standards very low to achieve the great prices but compremise on having luxury furniture in the room. it was lovely to meet you and hope to meet you again some time in the future take care and once again thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi - Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just to say thank you for your wonderfull hospitality at Alderlea. Not only the breakfast is wonderful but even evening meals at very good prices.
Margaret went extra miles when we encountered the problem of lost luggage. She handled the issue very well whilst we were enjoying a day in Inverary. Then, she was extremely helpfull in assisting us when my wife required medical attention. She managed to get us an appointment in minutes time. Andy? He is added value for the complex!!

Billy & Guzeppa
MALTA

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale-guesthouse, Owner at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
hello to you both! hope all is well, thank you for this lovely review and i a so happy you enjoyed your stay as this is what we like to be the outcome of every ones stay. as for the luggage, i was only to happy to help,its my job, there would be no point in you going on holiday just to spend a day waiting for luggage!! :-) thrilled to have you both 2 years running and see you again soon, maybe a cheeky wee holiday to malta for me :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

if you re working in oban or just visiting it will be hard to find somewhere more friendly or accommodating and justins enchiladdas are magic though wee andy s thai curry is not bad either this is the perfect place to locate if you want a chilled out break

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glendale-guesthouse, Manager at Alderlea Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
thank you very much for your lovely review, justin and andy are asking when you are next here? just said he would make you a better tai curry lolz! see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alderlea Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderlea Guesthouse

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5PJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alderlea Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderlea Guesthouse Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alderlea Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.