We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good quality, nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ranald Hotel to your Saves list
The Ranald Hotel
41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, good quality, nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Obviously fairly recently refurbished, the Ranald was a great place to stay. The staff were excellent, helpful and polite. The brochure almost makes apologies for the limited space they have for breakfasts and range of food, but we found it to be delicious and fresh and a nice change from English breakfast. No lift, but it's not really a problem. No parking but again it's easy to park nearby at Tescos. Good beds and nice and warm with good showers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor! It's great to hear that you had such a pleasant experience with us and you enjoyed all aspects of your visit to The Ranald Hotel. Hopefully we will see you again for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    123
    42
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
289
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for one night with my husband in the small double which was more than adequate. Everything was stylishly modern and very clean. Great shower. Breakfast was first class and loved the baked eggs. Coffee and croissants delicious. The girls on reception and at breakfast the next morning were really pleasant and helpful. Definitely will return. Well done.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 on ground floor and was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ranald Hotel, so much that you are going to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon in the next few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Just what we wanted for a weekend in Oban for the highland cattle sale. Comfortable, friendly, warm and quiet, then a great breakfast to start the day. The stairs seem a bit steep after a good night out, but we made it to the top!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear that you liked all aspects of your stay at The Ranald Hotel and we do hope you return when the next highland cattle sale is on, or even if you fancy a relaxing night away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay in the ranald hotel. .. staff were a lovely. . Hotel is boutique like rooms were small stylish and quirky.. beds were massive and comfortable I had the best sleep! And breakfast was a delight..really looking forward to returning to oban and the ranald hotel when its a bit warmer. Thanks again for a lovely stay. Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found our breakfast a delight, hopefully you managed to try our lovely baked eggs! Thanks again, and we certainly hope that we will indeed see you here again in the summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Enjoyed a fantastic weekend in Oban with a first class deal from The Ranald Hotel! 2 nights stay included breakfast at the modern hotel and evening meal at The Waterfront Restaurant and the Cuan Mor restaurant - both excellent service and food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving such a great review of your stay at The Ranald Hotel. I'm glad you took advantage of our fantastic two night dinner bed and breakfast deal and found the service and food excellent, I will make sure your comments are passed on! Thanks again, and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Another wonderful stay at the ranald hotel we popped in just on the offchance of getting a room for the night and once again we were greeted with the lovely helpful staff another totally relaxed nights stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you, Isabelle for yet again another wonderful review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay just as much as your first and we are looking forward to your next stay with us at the end of April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time we have stayed 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast we love the hotel and restaurants lovely! Excellent value for money and love the baked eggs for breakfast. good clean rooms with plenty of space and well decorated. Would highly recommend to any one coming to oban!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review. I'm delighted to hear that you returned to The Ranald Hotel and took advantage of our fantastic Dinner Bed and Breakfast deal we have on offer just now. Thanks again and we are looking forward to your next return when you visit Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.