We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranald Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ranald Hotel to your Saves list
The Ranald Hotel
41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There are 3 basic things a hotel needs to get right:
1. Clean and comfortable bed
2. tasty Breakfast
3. powerful (hot shower)

This hotel ticked these 3 boxes and more.
We are staying here (at time of writing) using a groupon deal, for 2 nights which includes dinner in 2 different restaurants which happen to be 2 of of our favorites. The dinner deal itself is of great value therefore making it a fantastic deal all round.
The room in the hotel is superb, the staff are very friendly and efficient (booking our tables in the restaurants for both nights)
another bonus (or hindrance) is the fantastic smells from the Indian restaurant 2 doors down!!!!
We come to Oban several time a year (actually got married here last year) and usually go for a hotel / guest house with a sea view, this does not have the view but it is so centrally located, you could not ask for more. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Go for a splendid room, very large (314 is to the back of the hotel and seems to be quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for the fantastic review! I'm glad to hear that the staff looked after you well, not only at the hotel but at the restaurants as well. Our aim when opening The Ranald was to tick the boxes that you mentioned as well as offering a sincere welcome during every stay. All of us at The Ranald look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    122
    42
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
287
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my partner and found the service excellent. Quick check in and shown to our room personally. Went for the grand room and I'm very glad i did as it was spacious and beautifully decorated. Although the included breakfast wasn't the traditional cooked affair it was very enjoyable (i had the pancakes). Will definitely be staying again soon :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Ranald. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast, we know it's not what everyone is expecting! We try to go that little bit further at The Ranald and always like to personally show the guests to their rooms, it's something that seems to be missing elsewhere these days. I've passed on your kind comments to all the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Ranald in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great staff and surprising variety at breakfast, despite having no proper kitchen. The rooms are really comfy and very clean but don't pay to upgrade from a standard. We did, for £25 per night extra; plus points - two tiny chocolates and two small bottles of water on the first day (not replenished) and a small sofa at the end of the room (from where you can't see the tv). Minus points- upgraded rooms are no bigger than standard but the bathroom is reduced to half size to make room for the sofa and deluxe rooms are at the back of the hotel looking onto a cliff rather than over the street like standard rooms. Overall a really nice hotel but standard rooms are better than the more expensive upgraded ones.

Room Tip: Don't pay to upgrade rooms. Standard rooms have a bigger bathroom and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Ranald. Tripadvisor is a great way of letting future guests get an understanding of the hotel by people who have actually stayed and experienced our establishment. The chocolates are handmade especially for us by a local company and although we don't routinely replenish those particular items they are available on request. I will, however look in to perhaps changing this. Being on a side street we don't have the sea views at The Ranald and we can't hide the cliff at the back, but it does ensure that they are our quietest rooms The rooms are bigger than our standard and have superkingsize beds rather than kingsize. I'm happy that your overall impression was good and we hope that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Ranald for two nights. It was a great experience. In spite of the fact that it is off season in Oban, the staff were so helpful and knowledgeable making sure we saw all the sites and even helped us book tours. It is in a great location, if you're there to pass through or to spend some time as it is close to transit. Breakfast was fabulous, the facility was neat and clean and at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I can't thank you enough for your wonderful review. I passed your comments on to my staff and they are always delighted to know that our guests have left us having had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. We are all dedicated at The Ranald to helping our guests in whatever way we can. I hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you come to Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just had a wonderful 2 night stay at The Ranald Hotel in Oban. We took advantage of a Groupon deal and have to say it was great. The two restaurants (The Waterfront and the Cuon Mor) were also part of the deal and served fantastic food. The Hotel itself was very modern and comfortable with some quirky touches and whilst it does not have a sea view a two minute walk away you are right down on to the waterfront and after all who wants to stay in their room anyway?? Breakfast was more continental than 'fry up' however the baked eggs are supberb. Thanks to the Ranald and we will be back.
Linda and John Fullelove
xx

Room Tip: Restaurant marks are based on the Waterfront and Cuon Mor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Linda & John, I can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience of The Ranald with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. I have passed on your kind comments not only to the staff here but to the staff at our restaurants too. It always gives the staff a boost to hear that they have helped make someones stay special. The Groupon deals have been very popular and we have our own planned for later in the year. The breakfast is certainly different to what people are used to, but I'm glad that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our one night stay in the Ranald was a very pleasant surprise indeed. Having stayed in a number of more "traditional" hotels in Oban over the years, this was a real change for the better. Modern, clean, cosy and with excellent service, it will certainly be our venue of choice for future visits to the area. Breakfast was a little quirky - but none the worse for it - and actually fitted in completely with the rest of the Ranald “metro” experience. They certainly make the very best use of the available space in the bar/dining room/reception area! The two guys behind the bar could not have been friendlier and were clearly eager to help. Our room (a standard double) was front facing and, whilst not huge, it was well appointed and perfectly in line with the boutique theme of the place. There was a terrific shower in the compact, but perfectly adequate, bathroom.
One minor pain is the parking situation around the hotel (and in much of Oban), but at least you can park in one of the bays right outside the hotel for free from 6pm until 9am and, helpfully, you can load up the meter the evening before for the first two hours of paid parking in the morning.

All in all, our short trip to the Ranald has certainly whetted our appetite for more of the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Ranald experience! Parking is a total pain in Oban! The whole community is trying to get this addressed. Generally there's the options that you mention and we are always able to direct people to other spots. We hope that The Ranald will be the sign of how Oban looks after it's visitors as without all of you none of us could be here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I decided to surprise my wife for Christmas this year by booking a trip away. The last time we were in Oban was after we got married, so figured it would be the perfect place to enjoy Christmas.

After hearing about the Ranald Hotel from a deal on Groupon, I looked at the hotel in more detail and found they offered a 3 night stay over Christmas. This included breakfast at the Hotel each morning, and dinner on Christmas Eve at the Waterfront Fishouse, Christmas Dinner at Cuan Mor, then Fish & Chips for lunch at the Waterfront Fishouse and Steak Pie for dinner at Cuan Mor on Boxing Day. As we both love Oban I booked directly with the hotel.

We arrived on Christmas Eve and were met by Harry. He took our luggage and quickly showed us to our room on the first floor. As we were at the back of the hotel, the view outside was one of a large rock, so not much to see, but on the plus side at least it was quiet. Our room was modern and spacious, with a large comfy double bed at one end, and small 2 seater sofa at the other. The bathroom was small with walk in shower. The room was also nice and warm, which is exactly what you want on a cold winters night in Scotland! The hotel is just off the main street in Oban, and never more than 5 minutes walk to one of Oban’s varied Restaurants and Pubs.

We went down to the bar for a drink before dinner. Harry booked our table for dinner, and served us a couple of Birra Moretti’s. We also took the opportunity to talk to him about the hotel, and about things to do in Oban during our stay. Be sure to look closely at the hand painted tartan feature wall! Which my partner is planning on trying to recreate at our house!
We left the hotel to dinner, and also visited a few of Oban’s Pubs before returning to the hotel for a nightcap. The hotel now offered complimentary homemade Mince Pies, which were fantastic!

We were really looking forward to tasting the baked eggs we’d read so much about…but unfortunately we slept in on Christmas Day and missed breakfast. So we made a point of setting the alarm at a decent time for breakfast on Boxing Day. As the hotel in branded as a “metro” hotel, breakfast consists of fruit, cereal, pastries, and the hotel’s speciality of Baked Eggs which are cooked to order. I had baked Eggs with Haggis, while my wife had Baked Eggs with Salmon. Both were fantastic! We couldn’t believe more hotels don’t offer them!

Throughout our stay, we found the hotel clean and tidy, with Harry on hand to look after us and advise us on things to do in Oban. After viewing other hotels in Oban, it’s clear that The Ranald is totally different to the competition. While other Hotels in Oban may offer entertainment, the dated décor counts against them. If you want a modern, warm and welcoming hotel, look no further than The Ranald. If you do, you won’t be disappointed!

We're already looking forward to our next trip to Oban and The Ranald Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry F, General Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Martin, thank you so much for taking the time to review The Ranald. It was a pleasure having you both here for Christmas. I'm glad you enjoyed not only your stay with us, but our restaurants as well. I hope that if you do end up trying the tartan feature wall that you'll send us a picture! I hope that we'll see you back at The Ranald again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ranald Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranald Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.