We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ice Cream Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pokey Hat

The Pokey Hat
13 Stafford Street, Oban, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 76 Restaurants in Oban
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Restaurant details
Description: The Pokey Hat is an Ice cream parlour selling delicious homemade Italian Ice Creams. The ice creams are made fresh daily, in house on the premises, we offer a wide range of flavours which change regularly at reasonable prices and in the summer months we are open from 10am till 10pm 7 days a week. In reply to a lot of tourist questions, yes our shop did belong to Princess Diana's mother Frances Shand Kydd at one time where she ran a successful card and gift shop.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Ice Cream Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I went into the Pokey Hat for 2 reasons.....

1 - How do you not go into a store called the Pokey Hat?
2 - The history behind the site itself. If you look into the history of shops in Oban, you will know what I mean.

I purchased 2 rather expensive ice cream cones and soon came to realise that you get what you pay for!!! The Pokey Hat has the best ice cream on the planet. They have ruined ice cream for the rest of my life.... but thank you for doing so. It is wonderful!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, you are absolutely right we are a bit more expensive than the other ice cream shops in Oban, this is because we make all our ice creams from scratch on the premises and use only the best quality Italian ingredients, which makes our ice creams a far superior quality. I am really glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    16
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Go get one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went everyday loved all the flavours and choice oh how I wish we had one here, Youll need to be brave to attempt the olympic torch (eight scoops) maybe you could share it with a few friends

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Ice Cream, glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service, Delicious Ice-Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Firstly, how anyone can resit going into an ice-cream shop called "The Pokey Hat" is beyond me. Secondly, if the name doesn't captivate you, the shopfront will!

We bought 4 rather "pricey" cones of varying flavours on a hot sunny day. Only when you taste the ice-cream does "pricey" really become "exceptional value"- I kid you not, with 15 YEARS of catering experience behind me, THIS is good ice-cream indeed. Worth the money for sure.

My 9 year-old daughter managed to drop her single scoop on the pavement outside so went back in to pay for another scoop. The staff not only replaced her ice-cream, but also the cone and DID NOT CHARGE HER A PENNY!

This is outstanding service, going the extra mile for a customer is hard to come by there days, but the owners here clearly have the right ethos here. It would be easy to to take the money again, but in this case the reputation & respect the owners get for adopting this attitude deserves recognition.

Well done Pokey Hat Team!

RECOMMENDED*****

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, am so pleased to read your comments with regard to the quality and costs of our product, we feel we do offer value for money as ours is aimed at the luxury end of the market and this is reflected in the ingredients we use. Have congratulated the staff on your behalf.,and with regards to your wee girl dropping her cone, well accidents happen, and we believe it's nice to be nice and value all our customers business in the hope they will return again in the future. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencoe
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“shopping in Oban”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The best place in Oban for an Icec cream, lots of selection, my boys have a different 1 every visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, hope you and your boys continue to enjoy our Ice creams when you visit Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Possibly best ice cream on the planet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Had the turkish delight in a sugar cone and it was devine. if you visit Oban don't miss it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thepokeyhat O, Owner at The Pokey Hat, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your Ice cream, hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pokey Hat also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Pokey Hat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pokey Hat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.