We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Hotel to your Saves list
Regent Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

this was our second time in the regent got a good dbb rate on easybreaks so thought we would give it another go ,room was clean and comfortable and even had a view of town and harbour ,only had a shower no bath shower worked ok but was on the small side,dinner was fine not a great choice but great value for what we were paying ,breakfast was an improvment on last time but thistime the staff put on a great floor show for us by them falling out with each other then a brief shouting match before one waiter stormed off in a huff never after throwing down a pile of table cloths and was not seen again, overall the place is a bit on the shabby side and needs money spent the staff were mostly all ok and worked hard for £48 for dbb for us both it was good value

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    203
    124
    85
    88
See reviews for
61
294
33
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I have stayed in many a hotel with business, and in my opinion a lovely welcoming hotel.Great friendly staff,who went out of their way to make my stay comfortable.Yes decor a little dated,but as for previous reviews very unjustified as the hotel was very clean and food was excellent.I had an early start so I could to be away before breakfast was served,so the helpful staff provided me with a continental breakfast for my convenience,which was greatly appreciated.I did dine in the evening and my meal was very tasty with no COMPLAINTS.I would urge everyone to form their own opinions. As for the money I paid for bed and breakfast in such a beautiful place itwas value for money.Thank you to all the staff,and if I am up again on business or with my family would return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbeltown
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

it was cheap! the deal was good value, the breakfasts were fine,over two days we had an absolutely awful dinner and an acceptable meal the second day, the room was to a fair budget standard, tired but clean,the staff, mostly foreign, tried hard, the bar prices were reasonable, one small room problem was dealt with in good time,(bathroom light) we were evactuated twice by the fire alarms, one a drill one an electrical fault, but not at difficult times, with several bus parties the 4 person lift struggled to cope,note there is no hotel parking our conclusion overall it was good value if you are happy with less, would we go back?...possibly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Where do i start shocked and gob smacked by this hotel felt like id steped back in time so old fashioned! filthy dirty smelly just horrible! terrible food! terrible staff! needs to be shut down knocked down and start again! how does this hotel pass a hotel inspection ??????? will i be back???? ha never in my life!!!!!! hotel from hell!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Regent Hotel, I am sorry your expectations at the Regent Hotel were not met on this occasion. In answer to your comments

The Regent Hotel prides itself on the its housekeeping standards and has had many superb guest comments regarding its staff and we now have new Head Chef with new fresh menus and we are receiving glowing comments about the food. I do wish you had the time to point this out to a member of the management team during your stay so that we could have made your stay more comfortable. Redecoration work is underway at present and will be continuing throughout the Summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for one night and it was really bad.the room was shabby,chipped cups and stained carpet.However the worst thing was the evening meal it was awful so much so we had to go out to eat afterwards at another resturant in the town.We were not expecting 3 star but just clean and a decent meal.I think the manager should employ a decent chef,prefably one that knows how to cook.!!!!!! very dissapointing......would NOT recomend this to anyone.

Room Tip: dont stop at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We went on a last minute trip to Oban ,yes Oban and it was the great Scottish bank holiday rain and wind .But the staff at the Regent kept us warm with their great service and friendlyness ,nothing was too much bother .Ok the hotel needs TLC but it was clean and warm we had a fab time thanks guys I would recomend your hotel .Your staff made our weekend break .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We checked in late on a Sunday otherwise we would have moved. Check in was fine, room was dirty, not just dirty but very dirty. In the bathroom the bath and sink were stained and chipped , the towel rail was filthy. Bits of the decor were peeling off and filthy. It looked like it had not been properly cleaned for years. The check in and the bar are the same room and it’s a bit congested

Knowing it would be hard to find anywhere else late as it was we went to eat. They stop serving at nine; we tried to order at eight forty five and were give sullen attitude and dirty looks. The food was crap, microwave’d and tasteless. To make matters worse as you are sat in the bar eating or drinking some grubby kitchen guy wanders through with bags of smelly kitchen rubbish ( really nice touch guys !)

To get a drink at the bar we waited for fifteen minutes. After complaining to the receptionist the duty manager eventually turned up with the same attitude problem to serve us. You might have think we had insulted him his looks and demeanour where so bad
Breakfast was crap small and served with a toal lake of Enthusiasm, we were glad to leave!
Do yourselves a favour regent ...get in some cleaners and staff that care about the place or close down !

Room Tip: stay some where else !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.