We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

i stayed over in November for an interview and found a very quiet room to sleep and study. Staff very polite and helpful. I would stay again for business and pleasure. Staff were lovely. Very quiet restaurant/bar - but then it was November. Room very small, but very comfortable. Wifi access is a little suspect at back of hotel. Could be improved.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Queens and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    168
    93
    49
    25
See reviews for
67
263
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
kirriemuir
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

just back from our first stay at the queens hotel, cant wait to go back.lovely clean room great view
of the bay.welcoming staff. the breakfast was very good and hot. we very much enjoyed the 5 course meal in the dinning room excellent price some of the best food we have tasted in a long while.we will be highly recommending this hotel to family and friends. already looking forward to the next time,
the ferriers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

We are glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at the queens and I will gladly pass on your kind comments about the food and service to the hotel team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for one night in order to catch the early morning ferry to Mull. After looking at various hotels in Oban, we came across this one by chance and were very pleased with our choice. The staff were friendly on our arrival and most accommodating during our short visit. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a great view overlooking the sea. We dined in the hotel restaurant and were very impressed with both the presentation and quality of the food - it was just as good as any 5* establishment without the extra cost! We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Owner at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

We are glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at the queens and I will gladly pass on your kind comments about the food and service to the hotel team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay based on the reasonable price and were delighted with our choice. Friendly and welcoming reception and waiting staff, a clean and comfortable room and the added unexpected bonus of a delicious meal. We had intended eating out in Oban but the menu looked good, the price was very competative and the dining room was lovely so we took a chance and it paid off. Our 3 course meal was delicious and I would highly recommend to anyone to give the restaurant a go. Overall, we would definately stay, and eat, at the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service at the Queens.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast. Good value. Clean, comfortable and helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast was good but if you want more than one rasher of bacon or sausage, you have to ask! Would recommend for anyone looking for a good value short break.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Queens. I will pass your kind comments on to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

When I heard that Gary Goldie, ex head chef at Ardanaiseig Hotel near Kilchrenan, Oban, was now in the Queen's Hotel I didn't hesitate to book a meal for my husband, son and fiancee. And, we weren't disappointed - the food was simply amazing.
Three courses cost £25, and five cost £28 - so five courses it was. It was, however, more like seven, which made it even better value. We started in the lounge, eating little appetizers, individually made and delicious. It was a set menu, so we were pleasantly surprised when a tiny fish, chips, mushy peas and tartare sauce was brought to us, served on stones (probably from a nearby beach). Again, absolutely lovely. The next course was a local potatoes and courgette dish, scattered with bits and pieces of things that Gary picks and forages for in the local area. Next was crab served in a spinach leaf. Both courses very nice. But, when it came to the main course of venison cooked with berries and other exquisite tasting things - this was simply excellent. All of this was followed by a cheese course - a gorgeous, creamy cambazola with home made biscuits. Pudding was a beautiful delicate dish of home made ice cream with brambles. And as if that wasn't enough, we then had beautiful home made confectionery with our coffee. I cannot say enough about the meal - it was absolutely lovely, and incredible value. The service was very good too - attentive without being over the top; if the waiter didn't know the answer to our questions about the food, he found out for us. The surroundings in the bar are nice, comfortable and warm. The only thing I would say is that in time, it would be good to see the restaurant decor changed as it was a bit stark and didn't have too much of a 'cosy' feel to it - that's a personal opinion. The evening was a delight and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel as we live in the area so are just reviewing the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
I am delighted to read your comments on the food and service here at the Queens. Plans are being put in place for an update of the restaurant decor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We just booked as a hotel , but what a great treat with the dining experience , dined from set menu 5 courses and so reasonable for high standard if your a foodie it's well worth a stop , locally sourced ingredients great presentation and thought went in to this meal .well done .topped with the friendly team members definitely visit again thank you

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service at the Queens.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.