We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oban Bay Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great stay once again, this is my 3rd stay at this hotel. Got a great deal for 2 night DBB deal with my sister through Easybreaks. All staff very friendly and food was delicious, cannot fault the food one bit. Service also excellent. Enjoyed the hot tub although not sure of how clean it was, I felt it could do with a scrub inside. Room was clean and comfortable. My tip to the hotel would be to bring check in back to 2pm rather than 3pm especially as check out is 11am, surely that's enough time to clean the rooms. We arrived just after 2pm and was told our room wasn't ready until 3pm and I heard them telling everyone this that arrived after us. I have a feeling that this may be to get us to buy a drink in the bar which is what everyone done. I really don't believe that all our rooms were getting cleaned at that point. Every other hotel that I have been to have gave us our room before if it is ready, just my thoughts. I would stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    313
    212
    103
    64
See reviews for
125
574
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

First impressions weren't too good especially with the sign of the hotel a bit wonky and the 'A' from Oban missing!! Not good. BUT, totally changed my mind after staying here for a few nights at Easter. Great sized triple room, on par with recent Hilton hotels we have stayed in. No view but not needed at night time!
The best bit has to be the food. Mouth watering dishes, 5 courses each night, speedy, friendly and efficient waiting staff. Excellent! I really wasn't expecting this!
Staff also were flexible in preparing food for our young children who can be picky in what they eat.
Overall we had a lovely stay, great location & fab food & service. But please buy a new letter 'A' for that sign....!!


Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is long of tooth. For those who arrive in Oban by ferry or train having a significant amount of luggage the walk to the hotel is a bit long. At arrival the desk clerk was not friendly. There is no lift. Getting to one's room is akin to negotiating a maze with multiple short climbs up and then back down stairs. Our room was hot. The window could not be opened to let in fresh cool air.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyrigg, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Spent a 3 night D.B.B break at the hotel over Easter weekend. Although this is a 3* hotel I definately rate the food, service and location as more 4 to 5 *.We have been to other Crerar hotels and feel the food is always of a high standard offering 6 courses at dinner(3 being little samplers but still delicious). Yes the room was a little tired-mainly the bathroom but we spent very little time in the room just sleeping and getting changed so it really is an inconvenience which can be over looked as the bar, dining room and decking area overlooking the bay is extremely nice.Ecellent value for money and will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Me and my partner loved our time here! So relaxing, and the views are magnificent! You have full use of spa facilities (steam room, sauna etc) included in room price which is great! Stayed in Kerrera suite which had lovely double bath and great views! Choice of food is limited if you're really fussy (like me) but staff are happy to assist with menu choices if you're stuck for what to order. Highly recommend this hotel!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Absolutely wonderful hotel,second visit at Easter,weather helped of course.
Clean,friendly hotel,food fantastic,great choices,great deal .Staff so willing to help nothing is a bother.Rooms very nice,Hot tub was enjoyed by the ladies of the party.
Can't wait to go back.Tip Top.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Turned up on "spec", having cancelled a booking elsewhere in Oban.
This hotel does look a little tired - a coat of paint here and there, some brighter wallpaper, brighter lights in the lounge area and some varnish on the dining room tables would put a bit of sparkle back in.
BUT, the views out the front lounge window just great, the bar prices not too bad at all and, very surprisingly (to be honest, given the kind-of-dreary decor) the food was brilliant. The waiting staff in the dining room cannot be faulted - everything brought to the table on time and hot. Well done.
Other staff encountered - the bar staff and the cleaners - also very polite and helpful.
Our bedroom was fine - the shower in particular was very good indeed.
Only one small issue - this hotel does allow dogs which is fine if you like dogs - so be careful if you have an allergy to dog hairs and ask which room(s) a dog may have recently occupied with its owner.
Would certainly consider returning to this hotel when next in area

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oban Bay Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel & Spa

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel & Spa Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oban Bay Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.