We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Sea life centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary

The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Barcaldine, Oban PA371SE, Scotland
01631 720 386
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Attractions in Oban
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary is set amidst the pine trees on the shores of picturesque Loch Creran, 10 miles north of Oban. The centre combines a spectacular aquarium with a busy rescue and rehabilitation facility for both common and grey seal pups. Come and explore our new Turtle Sanctuary and behind the scenes experience.* Over 50 Natural Marine Displays* Daily talks and feeding demonstrations by our Animal Care Team* Forest Adventure Play Park* Gift Shop and Shoreline Coffee Shop* Open 7 days a week from 10am
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“best Sea life centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a great time here on easter sunday. We only paid £5 as it was on a deal but had we paid full price we may have been disappointed with our hour visit to the centre. There was lots of things for kids to see and do but as there were only the two of us (big kids!!) we only stayed for an hour. I have been to lots of sea life centres and this one is by far the best!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Emmur,

Many thanks for your recent review. To be called 'the best SEA LIFE centre' is something we are very happy to hear. Don't forget to keep updated with us online, and hopefully we will get the chance to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    115
    51
    24
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

took the family ( three boys 7,9,10 ) to this attraction just to let other half have some alone time on family holiday .Have to say what should have been a couple of hours turned into a full day. Kids loved it.. The interactive touch pool , although small, was fab. The forest play had my kids entertained for hours even though the weather was miserable. I live near deep sea life the national aquarium and I have to say this attraction was far superior . The staff were brilliant and we will def be returning.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Buy tickets on line before you visit, it a lot cheaper. The views around the centre are lovely and the cafe is nice. Probably a lot better for younger familys, we were in and out in an hour. We enjoyed watching feeding time of the otters and seals.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Rachel,

It's disappointing to hear that you described your visit as not great when the majority of people class us as excellent. Indeed it is cheaper if you buy your ticket online, or we do have a lot of promotions out both nationally and locally. If anybody takes a few minutes prior to their visit to have a scan about it is often quite easy to purchase a discounted ticket. I'm glad that you managed to at least catch two of the talks and feeds which are spaced an hour apart, and are about 15 minutes each, so it's good to see that maybe you spent more than an hour with us after all. It is an all week ticket so many people choose to come back again and visit. I hope you get the chance to visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Ok, they have the usual tanks of sea fish of many varieties, and if you visit one you have seen pretty much all of them. There are some added differences to this place - sea horses, seals and otters. The otters were great fun and I rattled off loads of pictures without realising it. They are certainly the stars of the show. There is a nice cafe at the back which was clean and tidy with reasonable cakes and coffee.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello The Real Cruiser,

Many thanks for your recent review. It is wonderful to hear that you had a great day out with us. If you want to share your photos of Isla and Lewis with us we would really love to see them. Don't forget to keep updated with us on Social Media and Online to hear all about what's happening. Hopefully we will get to see you back with us sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun n fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Something irresistible about seal-feeding time here, the seals are real characters. I loved the big tanks of pensive fish in the gloomy light and we were quite taken with the two otters curled up asleep around each other...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi Hilary,

The otters are generally everybody's favourite. We are glad that you enjoyed your day with us. Maybe the seal feed is so irresistable we will see you back again sometime soon? We hope so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.