We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oban Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Oban Caledonian Hotel to your Saves list
The Oban Caledonian Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Mold, North Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Not so much a hotel review, however a chance to put something up about excellent customer service.

Having had a pretty torrid time at another hotel, we popped into The Caledonian to see about rooms. Unfortunately, they don't take AMEX which stopped us booking, however the receptionist was simply excellent.

Listened to what we needed, then phoned across to another hotel across the bay to see if they had rooms and took AMEX.

This is just what we needed - a friendly face, willing to help even though we wouldn't be staying. Thanks go to the reecptionist. You definitely made our Oban trip more memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Oban Caledonian Hotel. We very much appreciate your comments . I am delighted that we were able to help you find alernative accommodation . Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Oban Caledonian Hotel.

Stewart Walker
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    178
    184
    134
    99
See reviews for
88
407
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had a 2 night stay in this hotel which is in a fab location in Oban right next to ferry terminal railway station etc. upgraded to a seaview room by lovely gentleman receptionist because we waited all of 2 minutes which was really nice of him. Room was lovely and warm on entering, sash windows had double glazing added. Breakfast was lovely scrambled egg was freshly made to order. Service from all staff was good. Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you your feedback which is very uplifting and delightful to read your comments regarding your stay with us, and is so pleased that you find your stay with us so enjoyable. It is extremely encouraging for all the staff here at the Oban Caledonian Hotel to receive such positive feedback, particularly in light of the sometimes negative reviews which appear from time to time on various website, which can be extremely disheartening.

Stewart Walker General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed for two nights short break. Short distance from rail station. No wait to book in. Given sea front room ( brilliant view ) with secondary glazing, no noise disturbance whatsoever even including a Friday night! Room spotlessly clean, loads of hot water, tv reception a bit variable with the weather but didnt go to Oban to watch telly! Had two brilliant nights sleep. Breakfast was good, staff all were very helpful, attentive and friendly. Yes the hotel is showing some signs of wear , like us all, but she is stil a grand old lady and I will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for writing a review and I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and that the “team” looked after you well. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Oban

Stewart Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here as part of a business trip to the West coast - Oban is beautiful - well, its situation is - the town is a little run down in places (people are nice though...). I was booked into this by my work. Looks impressive from the outside - grand victorian facade, but sadly, like many of these places, it has seen better times. Communal areas were ok, but my room needed upgrading (a lot of noise intrusion from the road outside, old furnishings) - I should say rooms, as I had to move rooms in the middle of the night due to the smoke alarm low battery warning sounding in the room next door - I tried calling the night porter at midnight - eventually got him at 2am - he investigated, and told me that I would need to sleep in another bedroom, ad the alarm was in an occupied room - obviously a heavy sleeper! The bed in the new room was well past its best, offering little in the way of support or comfort, and I got up the next day less than well rested. Breakfast was ok - full Scottish - but it was only ok. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially the young girl on the desk in the evening/morning, but I wouldn't choose to stay there were I paying for it.

Room Tip: I got a room on a higher floor, but facing the road in the town. Still very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments on trip advisor it was pleasing to here you enjoyed your weekend with us at the Caledonian Hotel.

I will certainly pass on your great comments to my team staff who will be pleased to hear these, I was extremely sorry to read that there were points during your visit, which had caused you concern, particularly with reference noise from the street. As I am sure you will appreciate, Oban is a busy little town, particularly all year round, and our situation as a centrally located hotel can have both positive and negative aspects with noise from the streets late at night.

Once again thank you for the time and trouble you have taken in writing your review on Trip advisor, as it is only through constructive comments such as those you have made that we are able to continually improve our standards of guest care and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Stewart Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

First time staying in the hotel. Room was old and tired. Tv didn't work. No hot water in the room. At £65 a night that is the basics without going into the fact that the room could do with an overhall. Dinner was edible but after waiting over 5 minutes I had to go find a member of staff to take my order.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Please accept my apologies with regards to the issues you experienced, this is certainly not my normal standard at the hotel & every effort will be made to ensure this is not repeated. I am sorry that you had to endure a substandard bed during you stay, as we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. I can now assure you that the experiences that you received within the hotel, and highlighted for our attention are already being addressed


I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your recent review on Trip Advisor, regarding your recent stay

Stewart Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I really don't know what all these people are complaining about as we just got back last night from a 2 night stay at this hotel and had a lovely time. Our daughter booked it for us for our anniversary and asked for a nice room and we certainly did -room 224 - overlooking the bay from every window. Yes it is a bit old and tired but spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. Breakfast was lovely - fresh and hot, yes we did have to queue for a few minutes for a table as they were very busy but chill out, you're on holiday - whats the rush. We also only had a few channels on the tv but so what - if you want to watch the telly stay at home or get a life. We had a ball.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view - we did and they were happy to oblige
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so very much for your feedback that you have placed on Trip Advisor, your comments are very much appreciated by my team and I at the Oban Caledonian Hotel, were delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kindest Regards
Stewart Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

What can I say. The wifi works. Room was warm.
Well that was about it. Badly needs huge investment.
Very tired, bed uncomfortable. TV doesn't work despite the excuse. Break fast basic fare. Even the front door is broken.
Won't be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewart W, General Manager at The Oban Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I was extremely sorry to read that there were points during your visit, which had caused you concern, I have now investigated the points you have raised with the heads of departments and I can now assure you that the problems you experienced within the hotel, and highlighted for our attention are already being addressed.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Stewart Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oban Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oban Caledonian Hotel

Address: Station Square, Oban PA34 5RT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Oban Caledonian Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the gateway to Argyll and the Isles where the romantic luxury of the Oban Caledonian Hotel beckons.The Oban Caledonian is Oban’s landmark building. This 3 star hotel rises from the water’s edge, commanding breathtaking views over the sheltered bay of Oban to the romantic hills and islands of Scotland’s magnificent west coast.Gaze seaward as the sun slips behind Hebridean hills and a friendly Highland hospitality unfolds. The hotel has 59 bedrooms, many with fine views over Oban Bay to the mountains of Mull and Ardgour.Centrally situated the hotel has two restaurants – Café Caledonian where a bistro menu is served all day and open to both residents and the many visitors to Argyll. Restaurant Caledonian where the menu changes daily and is set in a relaxed ambience using where possible Scottish produce.We strive here at The Oban Caledonian hotel to exceed guest expectation and offer a great base for your Oban stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Oban Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Oban
The Oban Caledonian Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oban Caledonian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.