We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Guesthouse

Cameron Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cameron Guesthouse to your Saves list
Cameron Guesthouse
2 Strathaven Terrace | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Cameron Guest House is in a really great location and a short walk to central Oban.

We had a family room with shared bathroom. The latter raised some issues as it is not clear if the bathroom is occupied or not.

The room was comfortable but small.

Don't get trapped and order an overpriced continental breakfast from the guest house ... we walked five minutes and got a far better breakfast at less than half the price.

As for the landlord .... didn't see him / her during two nights stay ... keys were left behind a door and we left money in an envelope. A little strange!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The guesthouse was well situated, the room clean, the bed comfortable and the owner very friendly. However, the facilities were disappointing, particularly in relation to space. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in room 2. The hanging space consisted of 4 hooks on the wall with 3 coathangers! Drawer storage was 2 slim drawers, one attached to either end of the headboard. As a result, our luggage was not unpacked during our stay. The en-suite bathroom was tiny, with the washhand basin hard against one wall, making the task of washing and shaving somewhat tricky. In addition to the double bed, there was also a single bed in the room, taking up more space (and the only place we could store our luggage). I'm only glad there there were just 2 of us and we weren't staying any longer than 2 nights. Breakfast was not available during our stay, so I am unable to comment on service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The price is really cheap for such a guest house in the centre of Oban. The room is big and beautiful even with a horse painting by Beihong Xu on the wall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived late and found nice message and keys to enter (check in possibility usually in the afternoon). Sleeping and bathroom were absolutely clean and beautiful. Shower facility was the best I ever saw in Britain: It really contained pressure! Located in short walking distance to Oban centre / habour. Next time around we will come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Guesthouse

Address: 2 Strathaven Terrace | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cameron Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Guesthouse Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.