We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super views of the bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilchrenan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kilchrenan House to your Saves list
Kilchrenan House
Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Super views of the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very welcoming and comfortable small hotel within easy walking distance of the town centre. Rooms well equipped and very clean and comfortable. We stayed in room 4, at the front of the building with superb views down the Sound of Kerrera. The only negative I could see is that there is no public lounge - which might be a problem on long rainy holidays.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have superb views. Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    70
    16
    4
    7
See reviews for
59
215
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
D&G
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Don't know where to start...from the moment we walked through the door...to the end of our three night stay, we were made so welcoming into this stunning Guest House. We stayed in room 12 which had a super view from the side of the building overlooking the water.. lovely start to the day watching the boats coming and going from Oban. Breakfast was first class...highly recommend the pancakes.. All staff serving breakfast were so nice and looked after us very very well. Colin and Frances are fantastic hosts and must admit I didn't want to leave on my last day. Roll on next year...Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times and have never had a bad experience. Colin & Frances are terrific hosts and help with tour and restaurant recommendations, Welcome drink is also a nice touch and breakfast can be as much or as little as you like with smiling,helpful staff on hand for more coffee etc.

Room Tip: Harbour facing rooms are 1, 15 and 5 with the first 2 on the ground floor. These are our recommendat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Kilchrenan House is just a short distance from the Oban city center. Many people walk into town, I preferred the taxi. It was about a $5 ride to anyplace in Oban. My room did not have a sea view although it was a decent view out through the trees on the back side of the House. The rate was excellent and the service friendly and efficient.

The breakfasts at Kilchrenan House were very good with a lot of options. They ranged from the full Scottish breakfast to toast and eggs (boiled or poached.) Coffee and tea were served along with a variety of juices and milk.

There are many B'n'B options in and around Oban but I found my stay at the Kilchrenan House (five nights) was very pleasant. When I left early on the last day, Colin fixed me a takeaway lunch for the train back to Glasgow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Kilchrean House. The room was very comfortable and within walking distance to Oban. The staff was very helpful when we arrived with directions to the Oban Distillery to make our late afternoon tour.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My third visit to this B & B and it is still brilliant. The owners cannot do enough to make you comfortable ans at ease. If possible get a room on the front and lie in bed watching the fishing boats and the Caledonian Mac Brayne ferries shuttling back and forth to the islands.
Breakfast is a1 and the rooms are all of good size along with large beds and lovely crisp white sheets. With this establishment you will get all you expect plus a little more. Plenty of car parking and a near perfect position for dining out in the evening.

Room Tip: Room on the front overlooking the harbour a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

From the welcoming dram of whisky to the farewell, the stay couldn't have been better. The accommodation is ideally situated on the seafront overlooking the harbour and close to the town centre. The room was very clean & comfortable with the usual facilities (tea/coffee etc.) and the breakfast was very impressive, the "full Scottish" on the first morning and scrambled egg with smoked salmon the next - enjoyed while appreciating the harbour view.
The owners are very friendly & will endeavour to assist you in any way possible e.g. make booking/enquiries on your behalf which all lends to a very relaxing & comfortable stay.
I'll certainly stay again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilchrenan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchrenan House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colin and Frances welcome all visitors to their elegant Victorian home combining modern comfort with a relaxing atmosphere. Extensive breakfast menu. Spacious rooms, most with sea views and all en-suite. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kilchrenan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchrenan House Hotel Oban
Kilchrenan House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilchrenan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.