We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room / Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Muir Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Don Muir Guest House to your Saves list
Don Muir Guest House
Crannaig A Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 nights for the price 1
Ranked #31 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Europe
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Room / Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I'm not a regular to the world of guesthouses / B&B's so I can't really compare, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Good cooked breakfast and really nice modern room. Good location too. I tried to book a place towards the middle of town and was originally slightly apprehensive about it being up a hill out of the town centre, but it's actually not that bad a walk up the hill if you're in good health, plus we saw three deer in ~20m away from us in somebody's garden! The worst case scenario is a taxi from the train station for ~£3.50 so location is actually pretty good.

The guesthouse also a couple of mins walk to the Pulpit Hill viewpoint which is similar to the one from McCaigs Tower... except you get to see McCaigs Tower in the view, so very nice. Friendly owners too who were happy to help when asked for advice. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the positive review glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back again. A lovely couple to have made the acquaintance of .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

basic, food an effort, parking a shambles, cleanliness good, room nice, but really just somewhere to sleep and go. do not go if you have disabilities there is a very steep hill, and only room for 3 cars at a push and one belongs to the owner, it was run by the owner and daughter they seemed to be stressed and not at all interested in, if you were enjoying your stay. oban itself was quite nice.

Room Tip: the hill is very steep so car is essential, parking is awful 5 rooms but only room for 2-3 cars at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Extremely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We don't have a parking issue at our guesthouse as we do state that we have parking for 3 to 4 small cars and for the larger car we have additional parking at the viewpoint.You had no problem parking as you always had a place on the drive and the other guests had no issues with parking at the viewpoint As your husband had a disability it would have been advisable for you to have checked out where we are actually positioned so that it suitable for his needs. The breakfast you say was basic but that is what you chose. You were given the choice of what you wanted the night before and it always states on it ask if you want a variation. We asked you if everything was alright and both of you said yes. To say my daughter and I were stressed that is an understatement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here randomly when just about every room in Oban was booked in August 2013. I had originally booked at the Kelvin but due to overbooking they arranged for me to get a room here. Its very comfortable and clean and quiet. A very easy march down the hill back into town. Parking didnt seem to be an issue either. the breakfast was great. Extremely friendly hosts. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for the good review , very glad to have met you. Hope that we may see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Staff were welcoming and friendly, the guest house had plenty of thoughtful touches that made you feel at home. Breakfast was delicious and included fresh fruit which is always a plus! The Guest House is located a 10minute walk away from the city train and ferry terminal, via a beautiful look out over the city which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback , glad we made you feel at home. Enjoyed meeting you and hope if you are ever in the area visiting please visit us again you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don Muir is a lovely Bed and Breakfast on Pulpit hill in Oban. The owner was warm and welcoming from the minute we arrived. Rooms were spacious and en-suite which is great. The towels were changed daily. Menus were provided to ensure we had what we wanted and at the time between 8am and 9.30 this was adequate for us as we were going a trip to Mull and Iona. Our wee waitress Lauren was a star helping mum serve guests in the dinning room. Can't recommend this B/B highly enough and would definitely go back should we travel to oban again.

Room Tip: a double room is best as one of the twin rooms has to share a bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for a positive write up. Glad you all enjoyed yourselves as we enjoyed having you. Thank you for thinking of recommending us to everyone. Hope to see you again you will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were taking the ferry to Barra the following day and wanted somewhere for an overnight stop in Oban. This B&B fitted the bill and being a short walk into town meant it was in an ideal location. The return walk is up quite a steep hill but is no problem when you are fit and healthy like us.
Caroline was not the owner when we booked it but since she took over she appears to have hit the ground running and is doing an excellent job in what must be a very steep learning curve.
The room was spotless and the breakfast was one of the best we had our tour of the islands.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
A lovely couple to meet . Glad to have made your trip to Oban enjoyable. Hope the rest of your holiday went well. Look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our sole night here at Don Muir. The hostess was friendly, but not overbearing. She was also very accommodating when we asked if we could have breakfast at 6:15 AM so that we could catch the ferry at 7:30 AM for our trip to Mull then Iona/Staffa.

The rooms are spacious and well-kept. The location is also very attractive being near the top of Pulpit Hill but also within a 15 minute walk of the town centre.

At £70 per night, it also offers decent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline H, Owner at Don Muir Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay hope to have the pleasure of meeting you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Don Muir Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Muir Guest House

Address: Crannaig A Mhinister | Pulpit Hill, Oban PA34 4LX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don Muir Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast situated in a quiet residential area only a 3 minute walk from the Pulpit Hill viewpoint overlooking Oban Bay and surrounding islands. We offer a comfortable bed & breakfast accommodation.All rooms are equipped with TV, hairdryer, hospitality tray, heating and many more extras to make your stay most enjoyable.A choice of cooked or continental breakfast or our ever popular takeaway breakfast for those people catching an early ferry .We have parking for up to 4 cars and a large public free car park at the viewpoint for those with bigger vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Don Muir Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Muir Guest House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Muir Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.