We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Traditional Archery

Traditional Archery
Ardtorna, Oban PA37 1SE, Scotland
07867 785524
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Outdoor Activities in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traditional Archery. Try this ancient and noble sport using the traditional longbow of the Scottish Highlands. Learn the basics of this challenging weapon and test your martial skills on our dedicated archery range under the guidance of former " LONGBOW WORLD CHAMPION OF THE WAND " 2006. Children from 10 years and adults catered for. All equipment supplied and safety instructions given.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fun!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Whether you are staying at Ardtorna or not, dont miss the chance to have an hour or so having loads of fun learning something new in a very beautiful place. Sean is a great instructor and very knowledgeable in the art of archery. Cant wait to have another try the next time we make it up towards Oban!!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ardtorna archery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We weren't staying with Karen and Sean but they were very helpful in helping me find alternative accommodation and sorting out an archery session for four of us. We all loved it. Sean's enthusiasm is infectious and we got a free history lesson thrown in. It was the perfect activity to end a great long weekend on as, although everybody was new to the sport, we quickly picked up the basics and, had the weather not let us down a little, I reckon we would have seen real progress. A truly fascinating activity and great fun for all.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“archery at Ardtorna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to try this during my stay at Ardtorna. It was so different from what I thought it would be - its not just look and fire the arrow !! Sean was an excellent instructor who obviously loves coaching this activity and I loved hearing about the histroy behind this fancinating sport. It was good fun and the hour went by much too quickly. If you get the opportunity to stay at Ardtorna, then make sure you do this activity. Even if you are not staying there, give them a phone and book a lesson - 01631 720125 you wont be disapointed

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly and informative way to learn something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Fancied trying something a bit different whilst having a few days away at Oban and spotted this advertised at our B&B. Really glad we did as it was a great way to spend the morning.

Sean is a really good teacher, friendly and informal and it was a pleasure to be taught by someone with such expertise and obvious enthusiasm for what he does.

The archery itself was good fun, we went from complete beginners to beginners hitting the board (most of the time) within about half an hour.

Booked for an hour, but certainly got longer than this - all in all, two happy customers.

Thanks again.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

During our stay at Ardtorna B&B we decided to have an hour private lesson with Sean, the lesson lasted well over an hour, value for money. Sean is an excellent teacher, very informative with the history and techniques of the long bow and also has a great ability to keep it relaxed and fun. We would highly recommend everyone tries it. Thanks to Sean we are now looking into taking Long Bow lessons back home.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Traditional Archery also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Traditional Archery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Traditional Archery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.