We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL PLACE WONDERFUL PEOPLE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Parrot Sanctuary

The Island Parrot Sanctuary
Horseshoe Bay | Kerrera, Oban PA34 4SX, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 44 things to do in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Island parrot sanctuary is a rescue center and is not open to the general public. We are however open for volunteers, we are always happy to hear from like minded people who are willing to give their time. Sadly we had to close to the general public two years ago after the council decided we would need a zoo licence to be able to admit the general public. We still work hard every day with the birds who come into the sanctuary.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE WONDERFUL PEOPLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just back from a boat rip and a day to the Island of Kerrera. We stumbled across the marvellous parrot sanctuary where this delightful couple devote all their time and money to keeping this fabulous little sanctuary. They need funds desperately so please do give as you go by, feeding and keeping 90 parrots is a monumental task I would imagine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not open on the Sunday we visited!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We went to the island of kerrera on a Sunday due to the reviews I had read on here, I wanted to visit the sanctuary. Unfortunately it was not open when we went (23rd June 2013). I don't doubt it's a good charity but would be nice if there was more info on their website.
That said the island is lovely and we did the full three hour walk around, meeting lots of sheep!
I would recommend a trip to Kerrera, just don't do it only to see the parrots.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great charity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You can hear the parrots before you see them!
Friendly owners, extremely knowledgeable about their birds.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must-see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This Parrot Sanctuary is a fabulous attraction just a five minute ferry ride from Oban. I stayed in their lodge, which sleeps 4-6 people and only costs £450 a week. The island is beautiful, you can go on plenty of long walks to look at the scenery, or go winkle picking along the sea shore.

If you are lucky enough to see inside the Sanctuary, you will be touched by the sheer dedication and patience of the owners and volunteers. You can donate to the sanctuary at the gate.

The lodge was clean and spacious, and the birds were silent all through the night. The best part of staying in this lodge is that all the proceeds go to charity. I would highly recommend a visit to Kerrera.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Touches your heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We walked past this sanctuary and donated some funds but it wasn't open at the time. The owner and rescuer of these birds ( 70 at least) stopped to talk to us and told us some of the birds stories. Heartbreaking! I would encourage anyone visiting Kerrera Island to make a donation on their way past and stop in if it is open.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Parrot Sanctuary also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Island Parrot Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Parrot Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.