We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time had in Oban” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Great Western Hotel
Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good time had in Oban”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from Oban having spent a week there we found the hotel excellent value for money.
The manager ( Darren ) and his team couldn't do enough to please us and make our stay an enjoyable one. Pity about the weather.
The hotel it self has had a recent refurb dining room and lounges are nicely decorated and the furniture is very comfortable.
Having stayed last year we noticed a significant improvement in the food.
keep up the good work Darren and team we will see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Its great to see that our hard work to improve the hotel is being greatly received. It was a shame about the change in weather over the past couple of weeks. We do have our fingers crossed for a couple of nice days before the winter sets in. I will pass on your comments to the teams, especially the kitchen team who have been working hard to improve the menu this year!

Once again Thank you and see you next year!

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    177
    96
    28
    41
See reviews for
52
248
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

what a beautiful and stunning place to spend some time visiting. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful whilst remaining professional. the room was lovely, bed was comfortable, bathroom with shower and bath excelent; well furnished, warm and cozy with great views of the bay. the breakfast was enjoyable with lots of different choices.
lots of shops and attractions in Oban. would deffinately come again but for longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Its great to see you really enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for posting such a great review! Its always good to hear we are doing a good job! We certainly look forward to you coming back to us. I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

Warm regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked this last minute through Shearings - great value for money. We had 2 night b&b plus evening meal for £198. We tried to upgrade the room but as this was the last room available we could not. No need to worry our room (22) was brilliant and also had a bath. The hotel itself was brilliant with beautiful views out to sea from the comfy lounges. Meals were brilliant - top marks to the chef and his staff and the service was quick and efficient. We will be back. Also managed to get a deal on the train as we are both over 55. £19.00 return each as there was a special promotion in September for over 55's. All in all a brilliant few days and will be on the look out for our next trip through "Shearing" as they are a great company to deal with.

Room Tip: We got the last room available - Room 22 - it turned out to be perfect - bath - but no shower which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review!! Its great to see you enjoyed yourself with us and look forward to seeing you again soon, especially if the train deals are extended!!

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Paid for a superior room which was very nice with a perfect view. However the mattress was awful. I complained the first night and they covered it with a thin cover, I complained the second night and they put a blanket on it. The springs could be felt, there was no padding whatsoever. Some od the paintwork needed freshening up. We would stay again providing the bed was better.

Room Tip: Didn't see standard room but from past experience they are not good. Will always go for superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to read you experienced problems with your bed. I will investigate this further and take the appropriate action! I am pleased that you would return to us, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

great view and position on the the lovely bay in Oban. Excellent Staff, food and cleanliness.
but very disappointed with our room. very dark. and bathroom awful bath enamel was peeling off bath panel edges coming away from walls. shower curtain was all creased, large crack across wall. towel rail the other side of the room to sink and bath.
overall very tired decor wise. although in some places looked like it may have recently been done but could see no work currently being done.
when refurbishis finished this could be a lovely hotel.
at 56 i think i was one of the youngest guests. we also took my mother whose lights didnt work for three day after notifying the reception it still was not sorted so the did move her to new room where she was very happy. although still decor wise unfinished.

Room Tip: ask seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. I am pleased that certain aspects of your holiday was good, although I am sorry to read the problems your mother experienced with us and will certainly follow this up with the reception team. As you have point out in your review we are still refurbishing. Many public areas have been completed and are now looking great! The next phase of our rooms is due to commence in the next few months.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right on the sea front. We had a superior room on the 3rd floor which had amazing views of the bay. Room was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and bed was comfy, although the shower took some fiddling to get the temperature just right ( however there was also a lovely deep bath, which you don't always get in hotels now) A family member had arranged with the hotel to surprise us with a celebration pack in our room of lovely fresh fruit bowl, chocolates and bottle of fizz :)
This hotel is gradually being refurbished by the new management. The ground floor public areas have been done and are beautifully finished to a high standard. The restaurant and lounges look luxurious and modern; the view from the lounge is spectacular.
Quite a few steps up to the main doors, but there is an entrance from car park with lift access. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. They also are happy to advise on places in Oban to see. Good breakfast, didn't sample the evening meal so can't comment. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if you can, the scenery is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for your great review!! I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutherglen scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a weekend at Great Western, when we stepped into our room we were more than pleased, a large room with high ceiling and a wonderfully comfy bed, we booked a sea view room and it was worth extra cost, the view was stunning, across Oban bay.
Bathroom was quite large with shower at end of bath, all spotlessly clean, we heard other guests were not happy with their rooms but i think rooms are getting a makeover ,so i think we were lucky.
The food was exellent,plenty of choise at breakfast and dinner as were the staff, very friendly.
There dosent seem to be enough parking spaces but you can book a space to be sure of one
or you might have a bit of a walk to and from hotel.
this was a great stay, hotel lounges give a wonderful view of bay .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear beachboybill,

Thank you very much for your great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us. I will pass on your kind comments to the different departments, who i am sure will be just as pleased as me. You are right in that rooms are being refurbished, we have managed 20% of our rooms this year and we have more being completed at the end of the year. This is as well as our new dining room, lounge and bar!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!!

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.