We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday went from bad to worse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bay Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Great Western Hotel
Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
1 review
“Holiday went from bad to worse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I travelled with my mum and a friend. And we knew Geoff the driver too. We travelled with shearings and have done for the past 6 7 years and have never had any problems. While waiting for our feda coach it was late because it had broke down and was 20 minutes late. We had a very nice ride up to Oban Scotland, where we have stayed there about 6 times and never had no problems. We know most of the staff in the hotel and are really nice and helpful and the waiters/waitress are very nice too and will bring you anything at all if you do not like anything on the menu a all. On Tuesday we were due to go to Inverary and we were told the coach had broke down as the radiator had fallen of so we had to use the other coach to go on trips and that some people on the two coaches had taken ill and had got a sickness and diahroea bug and its was getting worse over the days. On Thursday e eventually got the coach bk and then were told that Geoff the driver was ill too and had got the sickness bug everyone had had to go on the other coach with the other driver George. There was no bad word to say about the hotel or staff as they were all very good and delt with all the situations that occurred very well and my praise goes out to them. So on Friday on our departure home we were due to leave at 7.15 and people were late and thought we were leaving at 7.30am but we didn't leave till 7.45am which put us behind schedule. Once we arrived at Washington services again Newcastle we were told that people that got on at NOrmanton interchange were going to ferry bridge services and being took home by private taxis as people had the bug and didn't want any of the other coaches infected or the interchange and that they were scrapping the coach when we had all got of it. And the hotel is being done up over the next year and the entertainment had moved upstairs in the lounge as it is too cold downstairs in the basement. All in all apart from that we all enjoyed our holiday and will be going bk to the great western hotel next year to see the changes they have been doing and just wished we lived in Scotland . Also we took a trip on the Caladonian MCbrayne ferry over to craignure (isle of mull) and the weather was very kind to us too

We will be visiting very soon and kind regards to the management team and see you all very soon

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
It’s good to hear from you especially your kind remarks about the staff. Sorry that there was a glitch at the start of your holiday and then again on the second day, but good to hear the coach driver managed to take you out on the excursion. It was unfortunate that you and other guests experienced the Winter Bug during your stay. It can be very nasty and highly contagious. Once we put our procedures into place to contain and eliminate it we defeat it! Thank you again for appreciating the work that the staff do. It seems you experienced another inconvenience at the end of your holiday, but they have to divert coaches away from interchanges to contain the virus, as mentioned earlier it is highly contagious. I’m so glad that even after all the inconveniences you enjoyed your holiday and that you will be back again next year. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    156
    87
    28
    41
See reviews for
49
216
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Having booked two rooms at this hotel for four people and paid £18 per person for sea view rooms and £15 parking charge, on arrival at reception they had no knowledge of our booking and I had to show my e/mail copy as proof on which it gave room numbers of 200 & 201 after waiting to around 4O/Clock we were then given one room on the first floor and the other on the second, the second floor room was very small and had the following faults, small 14 inch TV with only 5 channels, draft coming through window , bathroom had broken wall tile bath had a bodged attempt to seal around the back wall overhead light above bathroom mirror not working, on arrival we found out from the media that there was an outbreak of the winter sickness virus of which we were not informed, both rooms were cold although the heating was turned up on the electric radiators, the only good thing was the efficiency of the staff who were friendly especially the waiter who was of far eastern in origin. This weekend was a present to my Sister & Husband who had not been to Oban before. As my wife & I are frequent visitors to Oban we will never stay at this establishment again

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for giving the staff good comments and Ohm is gratefull you gave him a special mention (waiter from far eastern origin). The staff are sorry to hear that you will not visit the hotel again.
it is quite normal to present your booking documents on arrival as this confirms who you are, we don't want to give rooms away to impostures. Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with some facilities of the room and that you also found some faults within the room. The faults have now been rectified now that we are aware of them. An outbreak of Winter Sickness is outwith the control of the hotel as it is an airbourne virus and is highly contagious., however we do have procedures in place where we can contain and eliminate the virus quickly. Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

we recently stayed at the bay great western and most of the people there had come down with a virus on the morning we were really looking forward to it first time with shearings the bus was an hour or so late picking us up to take us to normanton then when we got there we got on our bus to oban ( the bus was not what we expected it was on old type one ) when we arrived you have got to give them credit we never touched our cases from the cases going on to the first bus until they were outside our room anyhow food and rooms were very good cannot fault that and the waiters porters and cleaners all very good the views what can i say breathtaking some more than we expected as the days went by people were not coming down for breakfast and on an exursion we only had half a bus load and when we seen the bus driver he was really bad he was that bad the other driver had to take us out it got to a stage were we did not want to stop in the hotel at night with all the people complaining so we drank at nearby bars and so on there was even people saying that another one of the shearings hotels down the road had come down with the virus and they were sending them home anyway my wife and i just tried to plod on and enjoy what we could of the remainder of our holiday on the scond to the last day of our holiday the driver told us that the bus radiator had broke and that they were sending us out on another bus (a newer one with more room that was what we should have travelled up in) like we say we have to plod on and i would like to say again the views were amazing glencoe especially. anyhow on our last day thats when i started feeling of my food feeling dizzy and sickly i came back from fort william after 4 and went straight to bed trying to build some energy up for the long trip back when i handed the key back at reception she said to me if your still sick you can stay for another day and then make your own way back home when your better all i wanted to do was just get on the bus home ...on the way back the other bus driver who was driving the bus (the other one got left back a t the hotel) said that they did not want the bus to go to normaton because it had got the bug on it and that they were diverting it to ferry bridge and that there would be taxis waiting there to take you home ( we were glad to get of the bus after spending all that time on it especially getting away from that sickly smell so we were glad to get back so what do you think did we have a bit o bad luck

Room Tip: bottom floor we paid extra for the upgrade to supperior room room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you so much for giving the staff a special mention, they really do appreciate it. Taking the cases to the rooms is all part of the service. Im glad that you got to experience a sea view room as you mention the views are amazing. Oban did experience a nasty virus during the week you stayed as well as other parts of the Highlands, they even had to shut down some hospital wards in Inverness! This winter bug as it is also known is highly contagious and spreads like wild fire as it is an air bourne virus. Im sorry to hear that there was problems with the coach but good to hear that the second coach was more comfortable for you. It is part of a proceedure to divert vehicles when there has been a virus outbreak as you need to detain the nasty bug. Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Have just spent a weekend at the Great Western Hotel, Oban, Scotland. Scotland?? The hotel guide in our room offered "a full ENGLISH breakfast"! It was actually a Scottish breakfast - -porridge, kippers, etc -- not that the hotel semed to know. On the same theme, the bar boasted beers from England, Germany, America, and Netherlands, but NOT A SINGLE SCOTTISH BEER! Just what do they think visitors come to Scotland for? Very poor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Its interesting to hear that different people have a different perception of an English breakfast and Scottish breakfast. You seem to think that we offered a Scottish breakfast and from the post below they stated that it was more like an English breakfast. You state that we do not offer a single Scottish beer when we actually do. We offer some locally brewed beer that is actually brewed in Oban and we also offer a variety of famous traditional Scottish whiskey's which are very enjoyable. Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently stayed @ the Great Western Hotel in Oban. As a group of 4 adults [age 40/49/50/55] We booked this cheap weekend through Shearings Hotels. We got a great deal and none of the party had been to Oban before so we decided to go for it. Let me firstly say that we were the youngest there, but do not let this put you off going, as the other guests in the hotel were very pleasant and good fun to talk to. The Great Western Hotel was clean and tidy, although very dated in 70% of the hotel. They have started some refurb of the hotel rooms. If you pay extra for a sea view the rooms at the front of the hotel have been refurbished to a very good standard. Our friends were a room that had received a Fresh look, but the did comment the beds were needing replaced as one of our party was 6ft he found the bed to be too short and said every time he moved it felt like he was on a bed in the middle of the sea it rocked from side to side that much. Our room was at the back of the hotel and unfortunately had not received the refurb as yet! It was very dated [if I was to put a date on it 1980], but was clean in all areas, including the mint green and pink bathroom..LOL. The staff in the hotel everywhere we found to be very pleasant and we had no complaints about this side of things. Our meals were basic but pleasant. On the Friday night our meal choice was adequate and we eat everything we ordered although
The portions could be a little more. We spent Friday night out of the hotel and can recommend the The Coast Bar and O'Donnell's Irish Pub. O’Donnell’s has open mike night
On a Friday and a live band on Saturdays. {see my comments on O’Donnell’s on separate review]. On the Saturday we dinned out in the afternoon at Cuanmor in George Street.. {see my comments on separate review]. Our Meal in the hotel on the Saturday night I have to say I could not eat the main meal as the meat was far to dry and the veg was under cooked. The Pudding was up to my taste, but the other appeared to enjoy theirs.

The Breakfast in the hotel on both mornings again was adequate. But for a Hotel
That is supposed to represent the best of what Scotland can offer their visitors the
Breakfast does need looked at. The Porridge was the worst I have tasted. [The best was in
Dalgarven Country House Hotel In Kilwinning]. The porridge was tasteless and stodgy.
The cooked breakfast again lacked that hint of Scotland tradition, no square sausage, no tatty scones? Come on Grt Western get with the programme, it can’t be all that hard to get these on the breakfast plate especially as you have a FarmFoods at the back of the hotel!!!

Apart from the enclosed, this holiday break and hotel was what it was a cheap couple of days away from the hustle and bustle of life, home & kids.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view room & booked your car on line with your booking in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Im glad to hear that you felt you got a good deal and that you met some fun people. Im pleased that you found the hotel clean and yes we are under going some refurbishment and hopefully the full refurbishment program will be finished in the near future. We are at present looking at sourcing a new manufactorer of beds as this can help towards a pleasant nights rest. Thank you for giving the staff a special mention as they are very pleasant. Its good to hear that you found the food in general pleasant. I see that you added to your Oban experience by visiting the local bars and the bars you mentioned do have a very good reputation. Im sorry that we did not offer you a taste of Scotland for your breakfasts and yes we do need to look into this as Lorne sausage and tatty scones are delicious. Im pleased to hear that you were able to escape the hustle and bustle of life and home and experience a couple of days in Oban without the kids. Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for a week on a coach holiday. Spacious room with view back over the roofs of the town towards Macaig's tower, which was beautiful when illuminated in the evening. Enjoyed excellent service and the hotel was in a perfect location. We had no complaints in the restaurant either - good food, good choice and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for posting your comments. I am thrilled to hear that you were pleased with your room and that you experienced McCaig's tower lit up at night. It's also good to hear that you were satisfied with the food and service from the dining room. Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Helpful staff and a warm welcome awaited us when we arrived. Staff throughout our stay could not have done more for us. The sea view from the bedroom and lounges was just amazing. The busy harbour surrounded by beautiful mountains is just a incredible. The bedroom was spotless and very comfortable with plenty of space to relax in. The bathroom was well fitted out and roomy.

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanHughes, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
It's so reassuring to hear fantastic comments about the staff at the Great Western. I also pleased to hear that you were made to feel welcome and that you had a comfortable stay with us. I also fully agree that the area is beautiful with incredible views. Regards, Sean Hughes, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.