We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Mull-Iona-Staffa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Coast Tours - Oban

West Coast Tours - Oban
1 Queens Park Place, Oban PA34 5RS, Scotland
+44 1631 566809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Activities in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: West Coast Tours offers a range of day and sightseeing tours. Our day tours to Mull, Iona and Staffa allow visitors to visit two or even three islands in one day as well as regular bus services to Tobermory and joint tickets with Duart Castle. Our City Sightseeing open-top bus tours operate in Glasgow, Oban and Bute and offer expert commentary and the ability to hop-on and off. We also operate a fast passenger ferry link between Campbeltown and Ballycastle in Northern Ireland called the Kintyre Express which offers visitors the chance to combine both the west coast of Scotland and the rugged Causeway Coast of Northern Ireland.
bgunawar@ap.ansell.com
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Review of Mull-Iona-Staffa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was an excellent tour. At the beginning the arrangements were a bit confusing. but the ferries were very comfortable roomy with panoramic views. The Fingal caves were stupendous and we enjoyed the climb and walking around e greens on top of the Staffa rocks. A photographer's paradise. The drive through to the Firth of Lorne to Craignure on Mull was very scenic.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    11
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Three Island Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just loved all of this, especially Fingal's Cave on Staffa which was not easy to get to but I managed! Wear sensible shoes/trainers if you want to do this. Started off on big ferry, then hour in bus crossing Mull, which is beautiful and then smaller boat to Staffa but only on this boat half an hour or so and I enjoyed. After Staffa where we had an hour went back on the small boat but this time to Iona which was beautiful. The Church for all the world not just Scots. After that smallish ferry only taking 5 mins or so back to Mull, then the bus ride again and then the big ferry to Oban. On our way saw seals basking on a rock - lovely. Great day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Mull, Iona and Staffa all enjoyed on a gloriously sunny day from Oban Pier. The coach tour across Mull was informative and scenic, Iona was interesting with plenty to do and see, Staffa was magical with a climb up to Fingal's Cave followed by a seat among the puffins! Highly recommended on a clear, calm day.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A good island round-up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This tour is great if you're visiting Oban and you don't have a car at your disposal. My partner and I visited Oban by train and wanted to see some of the surrounding scenery. Taking this tour was the best way to do it.

I had done some research prior to our trip to find out which company I should book the tour with. We bought our tickets from Caledonian MacBrayne inside the ferry terminal. Now that I've taken the tour, it seems that the companies work together to make the tour possible:
- Caledonian MacBrayne runs the ferry from Oban to Isle of Mull
- Bowman's Tours runs the buses which drive through Isle of Mull
- Gordon Grant Marine runs the boats from Mull to Staffa to Iona and back to Mull.

It does, however, seem easiest to simply buy the tickets from the ferry terminal either the day before or the morning of the tour.

As for the tour itself, it is a busy day with a few pros and cons, but ultimately, we felt that it was worth it.
- Pro: The ferry from Oban to Mull is comfortable and spacious. There's also a little cafeteria on board if you want to buy food, drinks, and snacks.
- Pro: The Isle of Mull bus driver gave us some humorous and insightful commentary during the drive. Steve was our bus driver - try to get on his bus if you can!
- Con: The time spent on Mull is mostly spent on the bus. You don't get to stop at any point to take pictures of the stunning scenery, simply because there isn't enough time in the day. Mull is beautiful and I'd love to rent a car and drive around the island taking in the sights. Unfortunately, because this time is spent on the bus, it's hard to get good pictures of Mull during the tour.
- Pro: The tour takes you to Staffa, which was more amazing than I anticipated. Because the water was choppy on the day of our tour and there were many swells near the dock, we almost didn't get to stop on the island. But I'm very glad we did, because the geology of the island and the cave is incredible.
- Con: If the water is choppy, like it was during our tour, the boat ride from Mull to Staffa can be uncomfortable (especially for those with weak stomachs). Bring anti-nausea pills to be safe because there isn't a bathroom on the little boat.
- Pro: The tour offers plenty of time on Iona. Having brought our own snacks, we didn't spend our time on Mull in a cafe or restaurant eating lunch. There is a small Spar on the way to the Abbey if you want to buy snacks. We bought a bag of crisps and some chocolate, but beware, the prices are more expensive than on the mainland, likely because it's the only shop in the little coastal town.
- Pro: Visiting the Abbey is a nice way to spend the time on Mull. It's a short walk away from the dock and there's a great museum which explains the history of the abbey in detail. Worth a visit for sure and you can leisurely pass through it with the time they afford you on the island. It's also a Historic Scotland site, so members can enter with their passes. Otherwise, tickets for adults cost about £7.

All in all, it's a good tour to get a taste of the Inner Hebrides.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Visit Staffa & Iona but do-it-yourself!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Staffa (Fingal's Cave!) & Iona are must-sees during a roadtrip through Schotland but book yourself a ferry and bus over the island Mull and save a lot of money. The information in the confirmation is very bad (nothing is advised on parking facilities and the busride by public transport, for example). Obviously you can browse through their entire website and read the FAQ but - because it's an organized trip - that made no sense to me... Mistake!!
We have seen no puffins the reason for this I do not know yet, but probably we've picked the wrong season? Basically it is a two-island trip with a long bus trip on the 3rd island (see nothing except from behind the windows in the bus).

In the end we had a fantastic day, the weather was good and as I said; Staffa & Iona are must-sees!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Coast Tours - Oban also viewed

 
Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to West Coast Tours - Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Coast Tours - Oban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.