We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty castle and grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel

Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel
Lochavulin Drive, Oban PA37 1QA, Scotland
+44 1631 562465
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 44 things to do in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built before 1275 on a huge rock overlooking the Firth of Lorn, Dunstaffnage was the mighty stronghold of the MacDougalls.The castle, with its huge curtain wall, was captured by Robert the Bruce in 1309 and remained in royal possession for some years. Dunstaffnage became the temporary prison of Flora MacDonald in 1746.The location – stand on the battlements, overlooking the Firth of Lorn, and see just why the MacDougall chief built his castle where he did. The formidable curtain wall – amongst the oldest standing castle remains in Scotland. The ‘new house’ of 1725 in the courtyard – perhaps where Flora MacDonald was held prisoner. Dunstaffnage Chapel – tucked away amongst the trees, an extraordinary legacy from the 13th century.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty castle and grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A well-managed castle and grounds situated close to Oban. Currently being restored and renovated, so the scaffolding may get in the way of some of your photos. Nice views from the ramparts.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    82
    36
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I got to lock up the castle!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We happened upon this castle! It was well worth the side trip. I love all the ruins in Scotland but this one will have a special place in my heart! It appeared that it was a formidable fortress and the fact that it was used to fight off Vikings was just awe inspiring! We spent a good amount of time going through the castle when the Park Ranger came and got us at closing time. When she offered to let me lock up the castle, I jumped at the chance? I looked it as a possible once in a lifetime opportunity! I think that I grinned for the rest of the evening!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A piece of family history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Besides taking in the awe of a castle and chapel, the staff at the visitors centre were very friendly and more than willing to chat about they history of Dunstaffnage. They are doing some work on the castle so beware of scaffolding. There is a long uneven stone stairway leading into the castle so if you have any mobility challenges be careful.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Beautiful castle to photograph and the walk through the woods to the ruined chapel is worthwhile, views across the Marina are nice too, all in all it's worth a visit if you are going Oban.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This ruined castle is definately worth a visit. A nice visitors centre, really friendly and helpful staff, etc.

We had the whole thing to ourselves one Sunday morning - great. The views up top are beuatiful, and the castle is easy to find.

The histroy of the castle is amazing and the chapel is lovely.

The 'house' part of the castle was being renovated when we were there, so it was closed off, which was a shame, but never mind.

Well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunstaffnage Castle & Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.