We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a carry-out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kebabish Curry House

Kebabish Curry House
99 George Street, Oban PA34 5NR, Scotland
01631566885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 79 Restaurants in Oban
Cuisines: Indian, Pizza, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Kebabish Curry House is oban's best Curry House serving Pizzas, Curries, Kebabs and Burgers to the oban community and many tourists from the UK and abroad.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a carry-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Haven't tried the sit-in but have had carry-outs every time we have been in Oban (about once a month). Good and fresh. Saag paneer would be a welcome addition to the menu but otherwise 9 out of 10.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaukatchaudry, Manager at Kebabish Curry House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review of our restaurant . We're glad you enjoyed your evening here with us and we hope that you return in the near future,we will try to include saag paneer in future menus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    2
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Good food and service, very friendly. well worth a visit

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaukatchaudry, Manager at Kebabish Curry House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review of our restaurant . We're glad you enjoyed your evening here with us and we hope that you return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We have been here the last 2 visits. Excellent meat and good value.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaukatchaudry, Manager at Kebabish Curry House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review of our restaurant . We're glad you enjoyed your evening here with us and we hope that you return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Serious Rip-off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Four of us booked an overnight stay in a nearby hotel B&B only so we wanted to try this place for our evening meal. The sit-in area was very basic and cramped, there are no table cloths on the tables or candles to give it an atmosphere, the tv on the wall had an Indian news channel blasting out, could have turned it down a bit, look I love my Indian food experience, why not play some Indian music to make the occasion fitting? but who really cares as long as the grub's good. The menu was fine, all the usual dishes you expect in an Indian restaurant. One of our group wasn't feeling up to it and decided to stay in her room and asked us to bring her a small portion takeaway back to the hotel.
As I said the menu looked fine and prices reasonable, roughly £8.95 per meal, we had 3 curries 2 rice,1 nan bread, for starters we decided to share 1 chicken pakora & 1 vegetable pakora, we didn't bother with drinks. If you like a proper sized evening meal rather than a lunch size then stay clear of here, the portions were very small, and the nan was thin and crunchy, very poor.
On leaving we went to the counter for our bill and to collect the small portion for the other member of our party. The bill was an astonishing £39.95. for the three sit-in meals, the £8.95 it says on the menu doesn't include rice or nan. What?
We then collected the small takeaway portion, which didn't include rice or nan, but included a chapati, that was £8.40. A total rip-off!
In total it cost us £48.35 for very small dishes, in a very basic sit-in area.
Take my advice, if you are looking for a table cover on your table, or candles, or some nice atmospheric Indian music softly in the backgound - Then DON'T go to this place.
But, if you want small lunch portions in the evening, with thin crunchy nan bread and get hit with a hefty bill, then this IS the place for you.
PS: I always tip when I dine out, but NO WAY were they getting a tip.
- This is your tip.- Avoid this rip-off.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaukatchaudry, Manager at Kebabish Curry House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Mr struth,sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at our restaurant,we pride to deliver qulaity food with good service,we are sorry not to be to your expectation on this occasion ,we have looked in to the matter of loud noice at the restaurant and instructed our staff to maintian at a standard volume , we look forward to see you again and once again sorry about the poor service you experience at our restaurant on that occasion which is not the norm at our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For fresh quick Indian food - the place to go in Oban”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I've often been to Kebabish since it opened about 4 years ago.

The food is always freshly made. Kebabs are nice - pizza are very good. Food is freshly prepared & you can sit in as well. Has recently been refurbished so the sit-in area is more discreet.

Does what is says on the tin. Decent value & tasty food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaukatchaudry, Manager at Kebabish Curry House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for a lovely review of our restaurant Kebabish. We're glad you enjoyed your Kebabs & Pizza here with us in Kebabish and we hope that you return in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kebabish Curry House also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Kebabish Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kebabish Curry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.