We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lorne Bar

The Lorne Bar
Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
44 (0)141 564 1973
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 72 restaurants in Oban
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Rochester NY
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good meal for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Delicious fish & chips dinner. My friend had a vegetarian risotto, which at first glance had us both stymied. Not the creamy sort we're used to, but more solid and full of all sorts of vegetables. Pronounced as very good. Service was fast and the price was more than fair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebar, Manager at The Lorne Bar, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments, we are well known for our good value for money and big portions, really glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    49
    56
    22
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Basic pub with good beer and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

If your a frill-seeker who insists on dining from bone-china plates on pretty tablecloths under dim romantic lights, then this is not the place for you! This is a down-to-earth, friendly, informal, and sometimes raucous no-frills pub that serves excellent beer and great grub, especially seafood which is their speciality. Some things made me smile - the 'soup of the day' was mushroom for all of the three evenings I ate there, making me wonder if I was the only customer ordering it - but hey! it was delicious anyway. Very friendly staff and reasonable prices. I was in Oban for three days and felt no reason to look elsewhere for dinner. They serve food till 10pm too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebar, Manager at The Lorne Bar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
thank you very much for you kind review , i can can assure you that our soup is made fresh every morning and im glad you found it delicious, hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice friendly pub good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Visited the Lorne on a recent trip to Oban, good pub with nice outside seating area, had a seafood platter for two it was very nice plenty for two and very reasonably priced. Good pint and nice wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebar, Manager at The Lorne Bar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
thank you very much for you kind review , our steak pie always gets lots of compliments.
hope to see you the next time you are in Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent tasting pub food & great value. Popped in at 2.45pm on the May bank holiday - just before they stopped lunch service (3pm).
Food arrived quickly after ordering. Burger & chips husband had was declared the best ever and he's tried them in greasy spoons, gastro pubs & restaurants. I had steak pie & potatoes with veg (peas) - beef was very tender & gravy tasted well made, all excellent quality. I didn't have chips with my meal but wish I had- the one I nicked off his plate was the best I've tasted in years, crisp & golden with skin on and fluffy in middle.

Service was really good too. There was a great £5 menu which I was tempted to order from but wanted steak pie which wasn't a choice on their bargain menu. I'd try fish & chips if I went back as another table had that & it looked great. Wish there was food like this in a pub in Edinburgh!

The only off putting thing was having music from kitchen competing with music in bar but that was a wee niggle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebar, Manager at The Lorne Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
thank you very much for you great review, hope to see you again when you are in Oban.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely fish, chips, peas and tartar sauce for a fiver. Hard to beat for value, good sized portion. Traditional bar setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lornebar, Manager at The Lorne Bar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
thank you very much for you kind review , oban is the best place to enjoy fish and chips! hope you call in again when you're next in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lorne Bar also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Lorne Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lorne Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.