We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish and chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oban Fish and Chip Shop

Oban Fish and Chip Shop
116 George Street, Oban PA34 5NT, Scotland
01631 567000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $42
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: SEAFOOD RESTAURANT AND TAKE-AWAY OFFERING A WIDE VARIETY OF LOCAL SUSTAINABLE FISH AND SHELLFISH AS WELL AS TRADITIONAL MEALS.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Crispy light batter on fish and chips were not burned and brown, just nicely cooked. The restaurant was clean and there is a view of the sea and ferry from the window. Just good old fashion cooked fish and chips, with excellent waitress service. ....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    126
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Tasty fish, chips OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We grabbed a take out from the chippy on New Years Eve. Myself and my husband both chose haddock which was very tasty in a good light batter and a generous portion. The chicken and the scampi went down well too.

The chips were OK but I've had far tastier ones before. The mushy peas weren't brilliant according to my afficianado and the gravy looked like weak bisto.

It is also quite pricey at £6 for fish and chips to take out - I must be spoilt in Lancashire!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This fish and chip shop offers a fish tea for less than £10. I can highly recommend the haddock. The home made tartare sauce is lovely. If you don't want the mushy peas you can have garden peas or beans. The fish is so fresh and tastes great. The chips are so fresh and tasty. If you are in Oban and have the choice of fish and chip restaurants, pick this one. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Oban was wet, wild and windy and we happened upon this very quaint looking fish and chips shop. It was a chance encounter that led us to dine there twice in two days. We were delighted with our large fish and chips (which we shared), mushy peas and homemade tartar sauce (seriously good). Our waitress was both attentive and knowledgeable. We liked that there was a description of the types of fish they serve (at least 7), plus the specials board that had locally fresh caught fish. Excellent value. That was lunch time. We did go back in the evening at 7.30pm but the restaurant was closed. We settled for a Chinese that was decidedly average but expensive. The next day we went back to the chippy for a late lunch before heading home. I had the homemade Oban Chowder. Oh my god. It was sensational. I was going to have the fish pie but the waitress advised me that the chowder was used as the base so I opted for the homemade steak pie. It was choke full of chunky pieces of beef and served with chips and veg. Very tasty. The Oban Fish and Chip Shop made our visit worthwhile as Oban seemed to be closed on Sunday and the weather was appalling.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tain highland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent fish and chips!! the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The fish and chips we had here were to die for yummy crispy batter and plenty of chips great portion size excellent service!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oban Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Oban Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oban Fish and Chip Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.