We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid view!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayres Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ayres Guest House to your Saves list
Ayres Guest House
3 Victoria Crescent | Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendid view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

An affordable and yet a great place to stay!! You ve a splendid view of the coast. It's an old building but very well maintained!!
Gettin to the ferry terminal is just a 10 minute walk along the coast! I would highly recommend oban and ayres to any fellow travellers.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at Ayres guesthouse for 5 nights with family and friends in September. All three ensuite rooms were spacious and very clean, with the one at the front of the guesthouse having breath-taking views of the nearby islands.

We were welcomed by the owner, Brian, who was very helpful and informative during our stay and even went out of his way to assist us with our airline check-in. Both cooked and continental breakfasts were abundant. Worth the money spent.

I recommend Ayres to others and would surely not hesitate to stay there again when re-visiting Oban.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The location is perfect, in the centre of Oban on the sea. Unfortunately, our room didn't have a view on the sea. The breakfast was a good buffet. The room was big, clean, with good tea facilities and the bathroom was nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Ayres Guest House for one night as part of a tour of the west of Scotland.
We were met by the owner who was very courteous and should us to our room which was on the first floor and faced the bay, the views were beautiful. The room itself was well appointed and all the usual facilities were available. The en suit was a little on the small side but served very well (maybe I’m just too big).
The breakfast was ample and a good selection of continental and traditional cooked food was available.
The position of the guest house is very good for access to Oban centre and to the seafront. If I had to make a reservation it is not about the Guest house it would be about the neighbouring premises bar which make no effort to keep it’s guests noise limits down. This should not be taken as a criticism of Ayres Guest House but as to the thoughtlessness of it’s neighbours. With all that in mind I would still thoroughly recommend this guest house and if I were to revisit Oban I would use it again.

Room Tip: Room No. 3 Has two windows giving two slightly different views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

been here now 5 times and I must say its fantastic
I always get a sea view
brian the owner is great and makes you very welcome
the staff are great when you get breakfast
first class
will be back next year

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishoej
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friendly staff, clean rooms - all you need, close to city center and Oban distellery. Nice breakfast and easy to get away from by car. We only spend one night but I could easyly have spend more nights at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

A very nice stay in this guesthouse. The owners are friendly and helpful making you feel right at home.
The breakfast was served buffet style - very nice.

Parking in car park to one side and no problems.

Thanks for a pleasant stay.
Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ayres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Guest House

Address: 3 Victoria Crescent | Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality sea front room only accommodation within 5 minutes level walk along the waterfront to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ayres Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Guest House Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.