We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be one of Obans best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Restaurant

Coast Restaurant
104 George Street, Oban PA34 5NT, Scotland
01631 569900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 76 Restaurants in Oban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Must be one of Obans best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Had 2 courses from the a la carte menu.
Fish was nicely done, very tasty and accompanied with a kedgerie.
Served with home made bread which is a nice touch.
Sweet was very well presented and was an unusual dish of chocolate, mouse, ice cream, sponge and berries. All wet together well.
Service was good, quick but leaving a nice pause between courses.
I would certainly recommend "Coast" has something different and not expensive

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    91
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wow, a must go restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went to the restaurant on recommendation of the B&B and were not disappointed. Good quality food and wine, showcasing scottish food at its best, friendly but not abtrusive service all made for an excellent night. Would recommend and go again. The no small children after 8pm licensing requirement also meant that this was a relaxing and grown up experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A small but well selected menu presents local produce, as any good Oban restaurant should. I had the mussels for a starter, and pan seared salmon main course. The mussels were excellent, and while I usually prefer a less creamy sauce, it was still very palatable. The pan seared salmon was perfect; crunchy on the outside, and soft and juicy inside, served with a light salad that complemented it perfectly. We ate early, and were able to watch the restaurant fill up. Since we come from Oban we were able to tell that many of the patrons were locals, always a good sign. Service was excellent, discreet but attentive. Will definitely be eating there again!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food with fresh ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went here based on recommendation from our B&B owner. It's a small place and was full, so I am glad that we'd made a reservation. We were seated at a table next to the windows and suffered a bit from the cold draft. They have a nice offer of being able to choose various combinations of appetizers, main course, and dessert for a set price. We were all very happy with our food. Very fresh tasting and they use locally sourced ingredients.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Visited Coast a couple of times during our stay and highly rate the restaurant. Early bird/lite bite is terrific value. Choice on this and the main menu is excellent, and cooking and presentation of a very high standard. Staff are lovely and very helpful. But be warned - the place is extremely popular and advance booking, particularly on a Friday/Saturday is a must

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Restaurant also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Coast Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.