We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like your mum's... well, my mum's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Juicy Roast Cafe

The Juicy Roast Cafe
Argyll St, Oban, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 79 Restaurants in Oban
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just like your mum's... well, my mum's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

On the whole Oban eateries seem to be mainly of a fish 'n' chips or burger nature: this may not be entirely true, but we were only there a few days and didn't get far from the waterfront area.

Sometimes, though (well mostly, actually) you want something a bit more. Thus, it was a relief to discover, almost by accident, the modest Juicy Roast in Argyll Street. The decor is indeed, errrr... unpretentious, basic even, rather like an old-style transport caff; and the menu is limited, essentially roast dinners - meat (beef, pork, or turkey, and not in mean quantity either), roast spuds, and two veg. There's also soup if you want it (carrot & coriander when we were in) and a sweet (apple crumble). And that's it: a small menu, but freshly prepared real food, nicely cooked, and at £5.50 for the roast dinner, a marvel of cheapness among the overpriced fishnburgers.

We had a chat with the owner, who had had a letter from Trip Advisor telling him that people had recommended him, but he didn't really understand what that was all about. We put him straight, and suggested that he make use of it in his advertising - bigger sandwich board on the front, replace the awning so people could see where he was. A nice bloke, serving a good product at an excellent price - he deserves to succeed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    20
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best dinner in OBAN.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The reviewer who said it was terrible must be unused to basic eateries. We had two roast dinners which were certainly not microwaved. The owner was modest but very sociable. The food was as good as any I've paid a lot more for on a Sunday lunch. Why pay more for posh decor? This is a great place and the limited number of dishes means what they do, they do well!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over looked, more welcoming than the rest, light jazz, cafe.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Over looked, more welcoming than the rest, light jazz, cafe. Very basic yet heart warming

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic cafe, serving great food, freshly made, cheap as chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Could not fault the place, five of us stopped in for lunch with a 12 month old baby. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was spot on and really good value. One of the best dining experiences we had in Oban. We found a lot of the pubs in the area were really over-priced, serving very average fare. This was such a refreshing change.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“good value if you are on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

A bit like a transport cafe but serves apple pie and custard, curries and home made food. Really good value and tasty. popular with backpackers. Not posh by any means but clean and tidy with nice staff.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Juicy Roast Cafe also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Juicy Roast Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Juicy Roast Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.