We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuan Mor

Cuan Mor
60 George Street, Oban PA34 5SD, Scotland
01631 565078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 72 restaurants in Oban
Cuisines: Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

The Cuan Mor was the best restaurant we ate at during our stay in Oban. I had the best mussels I've had outside of France to start, followed by a great Sea Bass. My fiancée had the Hot Smoked Salmon which was lovely, followed by the Lobster Carbonara which was out this world.

Great location, wonderful food, friendly service and a brilliant selection of Oban Bay Brewery beers as well as a huge range of whiskey. Overall, a great experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuanMor, General Manager at Cuan Mor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We take great pride in bring you the freshest seafood and I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much! We hope you will return again in the near future to try some more of our beers and whiskys. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    612
    354
    71
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We ate here recently whilst on a weekend away.
Food was really good, huge portions & very reasonable but felt a bit rushed like they were desperate for our table back. Would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuanMor, Front Office Manager at Cuan Mor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us. Although we tend to get busy over the weekends our customers are more than welcome to stay for as long as they desire so I apologise if we made you feel rushed in any way. I'm glad to see that you would return to Cuan Mor, and we will look forward to seeing you when you do! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went for lunch with my wife and son earlier this month, simple menu (fish'n' chips, sandwich, steah pie,etc------) but very reasonnably price and good portions sizes. Definately would go back for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuanMor, General Manager at Cuan Mor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We try to make sure you are getting good value for your money and I'm pleased to hear you agree. We hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Popped in for a pint in the evening and pleasantly suprised. Decided we would try the lunch menu the next day. My partner had the mussels and chips, I had the fish and chips. Both meals were excellent. The staff were attentive but not intrusive. All in all fantastic for the price paid.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuanMor, General Manager at Cuan Mor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you very much for taking time to write it. We try our best to train our staff to be attentive to our customers and it's nice to hear that you were pleased with your service. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope that you will return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been to this restaurant several times over the last few years and have never been let down. The food is great as are the staff. The atmosphere is lovely and calm and our favourite seat is next to the window looking out over the sea.
Heading up to Oban for our 24th wedding anniversary on Sat and hoping to pay another visit in the evening. Looking forward to it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CuanMor, General Manager at Cuan Mor, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for such a wonderful review. I'm glad you have enjoyed every experience in our restaurant as we had hoped and are pleased you keep returning! We have some great views over the bay and we hope you had a lovely wedding anniversary! We will look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuan Mor also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Cuan Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuan Mor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.