We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend wedding” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kelvin Hotel to your Saves list
Kelvin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Strathcarron, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“weekend wedding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Sheena was unwelcoming and unfriendly, and seemed to spend most of her time propping up the bar. When we complained about service we were told that this is a one star guest house, not a hotel as advertised. Our rooms were dirty and cold, with light bulbs and hairdryers not working. At breakfast we had to make our own tea, coffee and toast [never done this before] 10 of us came down to Oban for my brothers wedding and none of us would ever stay here again. We also asked Sheena on Saturday if my disabled mother could come in and wait for the rest of the family, she suggested we go to another hotel, is it just me or is this appalling behavior? As I said we will never go here again, and I would never recommend this place to anyone else EVER.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    33
    16
    23
See reviews for
37
34
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

a freindly local pub atmosphere. not a great choice of beers but well made up for by the friendly and engaging staff and locals. good service and breakfast. the rooms we had were clean and spacious and the hotel side was quiet. Sheena, Shauna and Jamie our hosts were excellent company and treated us like family members. next time we are back in Oban we will definately visit again.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the ferry terminal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a short weekend break here last year,a very friendly hotel,short walk into town,parking facilities opposite hotel so no prob there,the room was small but clean and tidy,quiet time of year so no noise but don't think this hotel would put up with it anyway.we got the short stay on a special,£55 for two Bed breakfast,it is near the ferry terminal and railway station,so easy to get to the islands ,and about.the breakfast was excellent ,and did not have to wait long for service .the bar was very quiet at night ,but it was early in the year,I would go back for short stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here while working in the area. Favoured by visiting workers, etc. Decent hotel with a bit of character, provided by Sheena (owner) and Shauna (barmaid). Has a steady local clientele in bar, occasionally live music. My room was very clean and serviced daily. Very friendly atmosphere. Could improve evening meal availability. Has wifi but it's unreliable in rooms, best in bar. Some street noise especially at weekends. Handy for ferries and town centre. Parking at rear 1800-0800 in council car park, or on street p&d.

Room Tip: rear rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were made extremely welcome at the hotel by Sheena and her staff. We had a very comfortable, spotlessly clean room on the first floor overlooking the ferry terminal. Beds were comfy and warm with good linen and a well proportioned shower room with nice soft towels.

Breakfast in the bright restaurant was superb, Sheena uses only the best of ingredients and her well cooked breakfasts were tasty and filling. Service at breakfast was very efficient with nobody having to wait very long for food despite a good number of guests deciding to breakfast at the same time when we were there.

The hotel has a nice wee bar, drinks served by pleasant girls, great to have a quiet drink on a wet Oban evening.

There is a large car park opposite the Kelvin but there is also some handy on-road parking at front of hotel.
The hotel is close to restaurants and bars and very convenient for guest wishing to use the ferry to the islands.

Without a doubt we will choose the Kelvin Hotel on any future visits to Oban, and would have no qualms in recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a night and the room was clean & tidy. We also had free wifi which was brilliant. The breakfast was very good but my orange juice had green stuff floating around in it. (Mayb just opened and put to back of fridge). It's in a great location for all of Obans shops, cafes, pubs and public transport etc. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Forget all this snobbish 'STAR' nonsense, this small Hotel suits a purpose,it's clean comfortable and most welcoming, a stone's throw from the ferry and town centre.Breakfasts are not be missed,well cooked, not too much but then not too little,served by the lovely Joanne. there is no false smiles in this establishment, The lounge bar is well run with an unobtrusive pool table and a wee library of books if one is inclined that way.no complaints.

Room Tip: avoids the hustle and bustle of the town centre,heard nothing in slumber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelvin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelvin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.