We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Ideal'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelvin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kelvin Hotel to your Saves list
Kelvin Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 98 Oban B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“'Ideal'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Forget all this snobbish 'STAR' nonsense, this small Hotel suits a purpose,it's clean comfortable and most welcoming, a stone's throw from the ferry and town centre.Breakfasts are not be missed,well cooked, not too much but then not too little,served by the lovely Joanne. there is no false smiles in this establishment, The lounge bar is well run with an unobtrusive pool table and a wee library of books if one is inclined that way.no complaints.

Room Tip: avoids the hustle and bustle of the town centre,heard nothing in slumber.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    33
    16
    23
See reviews for
37
34
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just back from a lovely 2 night stay in the Kelvin Hotel, Oban. It's perfectly located: a minute's walk from the bustle of the town and directly across from the ferry terminal.
I stayed with a friend and we were given an attic family room with 3 single beds. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a log both nights. We heard no noise whatsoever from either the ferry or the downstair bar. Our room was at the back. It was not luxurious, but it was clean and tidy-exactly what we wanted for our stay.
The owner was very pleasant and friendly and chatted with us after breakfast, suggesting places we could visit.
The car park is directly across the road from the hotel, with lots of spaces. Wifi is available too.
The cooked breakfast was great, served on hot plates. My only suggestion would be perhaps some vegetarian sausages or tattie scones to bulk up the non meat-eaters option.
I would thoroughly recommend it as a base for sightseeing around Oban and I look forward to my next visit to the Kelvin Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

stayed in this hotel for two nites with my wife and two kids. Even though, we didn't have much time to stay in the hotel....shopping shopping...We had good nites because it was comfortable, ofcourse can see the effort made to keep the place nice and tidy. Don't mind coming back next time....here,,,,,,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent value,simple, basic clean room and bathroom, comfortable beds (£90, 3 in the room) adequate breakfast, friendly local atomosphere. Great place for overnight stay. Close to ferry terminals to islands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellshill
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Just back from 2 night stay in hotel while working in oban had a great couple of nights in this basic but more than ample hotel sited slightly off main tourist area the staff could not have done more for us room was spotless and had a great shower which after a ten hour shift you realy appreciate shame more expensive hotels overlook this. The bar was a great place to relax with locals playing instruments and good banter with both locals and tourists thanks again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here, having tried unsuccessfully to find accommodation elsewhere. It turned out OK. Certainly the staff member who checked us in and served behind the bar (maybe this was Sheena?) was very nice and helped us up to our room -- thankfully because we were allocated a room all the way at the top. It was actually a triple room and it had a sloping ceiling so you had to remember that if you got up in the dark during the night to go to the loo! The room was fine and the bathroom adequate. Breakfast was also adequate though I missed my black pudding! Hotel is convenient for walking to the centre of Oban and, although it is directly across the street from the ferry terminal, you walk around a parking lot and shopping/restaurant building to get there. It's certainly in a handy location. The bar was great -- friendly, warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here on 30.06.12 for a one night stay in Oban, The rooms where ensuite, with tea & coffee making facility, rooms were clean and comfortable with nothing at all to complain about.
The staff & Sheena made us feel very welcome and helped with luggage to our room, with a warm friendly atmosphere throughout made our stay most enjoyable.
A full breakfast was on offer the next day, a bar for night time downstairs and great service was given both in the bar and restaurant, the location of the hotel directly behind the ferry terminal and rail station was more than ideal with just a short 2 - 3 min walk along the street took us to the start of the town centre which had a busy saturday nightlife that made a nice stroll at night along the front with excellent views all around oban.
location overall was of a quiet location yet a short walk to the town.

Room Tip: Choose or request any room to the front and get a wonderful view of rail, ferry sea and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelvin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: Shore Street, Oban PA34 4LQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelvin Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Oban, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelvin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.